Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-14-2010, 04:17 PM   #16
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Cook County Grounding rules


Quote:
Originally Posted by McSweny1103 View Post
You mean the Jumper for the meter, right?
right. All you have to worry about is what is inside your house. If there is a pressure valve, you will need to jumper that though. Basically anything that can be easily taken out of line needs to be jumpered across.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nap For This Useful Post:
McSweny1103 (06-14-2010)
Old 06-14-2010, 04:39 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Midlothian, IL
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cook County Grounding rules


So now the million dollar question is where do I find an adequate jumper line?
McSweny1103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 04:44 PM   #18
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cook County Grounding rules


They sell it at lowe's or Home Depot by the foot (they cut it for you). I think you only need #8 bare copper (but it can be insulated if you want) for 100A. I'd size it for 200A in case you ever upgrade, which I believe requires #6 - but I'll let someone verify those wire sizes. They also sell the clamps I pictured above at Lowes/HD.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 04:58 PM   #19
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cook County Grounding rules


water pipe bond and jumper is determined by the feeder size


up to #2 cu or 1/0 al requires #8 cu

1 or 1/0 cu or 2/0 - 3/0 al requires #6 cu

2/0-3/0 cu or 4/0- 250 mcm al requires #4 cu
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nap For This Useful Post:
McSweny1103 (06-15-2010)
Old 06-14-2010, 05:07 PM   #20
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cook County Grounding rules


Is that in the NEC somewhere?

Or should I say...

Where in the NEC is that?
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 05:22 PM   #21
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cook County Grounding rules


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
is that in the nec somewhere?

Or should i say...

Where in the nec is that?
250.66

there are exceptions for a GEC to only a ground rod only has to be a max of #6 and a GEC to only a concrete encased electrode only has to be #4 (I think). There are no exceptions for the jumper and GEC to the water pipe that I am aware of.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to nap For This Useful Post:
McSweny1103 (06-15-2010), secutanudu (06-15-2010)
Old 06-15-2010, 11:59 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Midlothian, IL
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cook County Grounding rules


Thanks for all the info. As I was reading all of this, it made me wonder. Do I have to ground the box to an external ground rod, or is the bonding, via the jumper sufficient?

It looks like there was a ground rod outside before, but it was not connected to anything, the wire and strapping that had bene connected was broken or gone, and the rod was pulled out (it was only 2 ft long) along with an ivy root.
McSweny1103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 12:08 PM   #23
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cook County Grounding rules


If the water pipe that you are bonding to is metal (if not, what's the point), then that water pipe can be your ground rod. So if you have a metal supply line (metal from the street to where you hook up the jumper), i don't believe you also need a ground rod.
__________________
Andrew


Last edited by secutanudu; 06-15-2010 at 12:40 PM.
secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to secutanudu For This Useful Post:
McSweny1103 (06-15-2010)
Old 06-15-2010, 12:25 PM   #24
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,869
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Cook County Grounding rules


Most jurisdictions will require the ground rods as well as the metallic water pipe as the grounding electrode system.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
McSweny1103 (06-15-2010)
Old 06-15-2010, 02:06 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Midlothian, IL
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cook County Grounding rules


I believe I am going to double up the ground. Go one level heavier on the jumper cable then the NEC requires, as well as running the grounding rod.
McSweny1103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 04:05 PM   #26
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cook County Grounding rules


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
If the water pipe that you are bonding to is metal (if not, what's the point), then that water pipe can be your ground rod. So if you have a metal supply line (metal from the street to where you hook up the jumper), i don't believe you also need a ground rod.
actually NEC specifically requires a supplemental ground rod be used if the only grounding electrode present is the water pipe.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nap For This Useful Post:
McSweny1103 (06-15-2010)
Old 06-16-2010, 08:20 AM   #27
Chicago, IL
 
Michael Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,037
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cook County Grounding rules


McSweny1103

Take a look here:

http://ecmweb.com/grounding/electric..._vs_bonding_6/


___________

I'm paid to be suspicious...


__________________
Home Inspections, Infrared (Thermal Imaging) Leak Identification and Inspection Services, Roof, Attic, Building, Basement and Foundation Moisture Intrusion and Water Leak Inspections, Troubled Building Consultations - Serving Chicago and Suburbs http://paragoninspects.com/
Michael Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Michael Thomas For This Useful Post:
McSweny1103 (06-16-2010)
Old 08-10-2010, 09:17 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Midlothian, IL
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cook County Grounding rules


Ok, one last question i know this is old....

How do I know my feeder size?
McSweny1103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 09:49 PM   #29
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cook County Grounding rules


well, that can be difficult. The wire is required to be marked but it may not be visible on the small section you can see. Other than that, comparing your wire to a wire of a known size is about the only other way.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 08:38 AM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Midlothian, IL
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cook County Grounding rules


So basically, just used the #4 copper.

McSweny1103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
grounding of main panel and sub panel in older house linkysys Electrical 2 10-01-2009 04:34 PM
Stabing back of receptacles in cook county IL Redrock Electrical 17 09-21-2009 04:50 PM
Sub Panel Grounding bar bmancanfly Electrical 12 05-24-2009 02:07 PM
Anyone want to take a shot at why #6 to attach antenna ground to breaker? Piedmont Electrical 44 01-08-2008 04:11 PM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 05:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.