Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-27-2011, 12:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Converting two 3 way switches to GFI & pole switch


I have a 1918 rowhouse and am running into some trouble with a couple 3 way switches. I have a porch light that is controlled by a 3 way switch outside on the porch and another 3 way switch inside the front door. We'd like to convert the outside switch to a GFI and control the porch light using the interior switch.

The interior outlet contains a black, a white, and a red wire that are connected to the 3 way switch. There are also two additional white wires that are tied to each other but not attached to the switch. The outside outlet contains a black, a white, and a red wire.

We were able to get the GFI outlet operable but hooking it up to the live and the neutral and leaving the red off. We tried just about every combination in the interior outlet to get the switch to operate the light but have been unsuccessful. Does anyone have any guidance?

Thanks in advance.

slgdc1433 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 12:35 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,992
Default

Converting two 3 way switches to GFI & pole switch


Black and white to light, red and a pogtail to the white for the gfci.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 01:05 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Converting two 3 way switches to GFI & pole switch


We tried that set up to no avail. The GFI outlet works fine, but the light switch will not operate. I think it may have something to do with the 2 extra neutrals that are tied to each other in the switch box.
slgdc1433 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 01:34 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,446
Default

Converting two 3 way switches to GFI & pole switch


Need to know the wiring at the fixture and ALL the wires at the interior switch. Trying to figure if the three wire cable goes through the fixture or from switch to switch. Need to know where the power comes in. Sounds like it may come in at the interior switch.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 02:00 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Converting two 3 way switches to GFI & pole switch


The fixture has a live and a neutral. The interior switch has a black, a red, and a white to the 3 way switch. There are two additional white wires taped together in the box not going to anything. Thanks for the help.
slgdc1433 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 04:08 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,446
Default

Converting two 3 way switches to GFI & pole switch


Sounds like you are missing two blacks in the interior box. There should be one black for every white you have. Tell me how everything in the interior box was connected before you started.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 04:23 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Converting two 3 way switches to GFI & pole switch


The interior box is was wired for a 3 way switch with a black, red, and white attached to it. The two additional white wires were found towards the back of the box taped together. We can't locate an any additional wires. The age of the house seems to make doing simple tasks like this difficult.
slgdc1433 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 04:34 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,446
Default

Converting two 3 way switches to GFI & pole switch


There may not be a neutral in that box. It sounds like this may be what you have except the fixtures wires don't agree. There could be a junction box between the fixture and the switch.


__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting a single pole switch to a 3 way Rze Electrical 7 09-13-2011 12:39 PM
Converting a single pole switch to a 3 way Rze Electrical 9 05-02-2011 10:10 AM
single pole light switch bamadad33 Electrical 4 02-04-2011 08:59 PM
Single Pole Light Switch with 4 Wires dmwiecz Electrical 6 11-22-2010 06:41 PM
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 03:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.