Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-29-2012, 03:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Converting switch to switch & constant power outlet


I installed a ceiling fan at my girlfriend's condo. I tapped into some power from the attic to power the fan, and there is a wireless RF remote that controls the fan. This wireless remote can be hardwired into the condo's electrical system so you don't have to change the batteries. My plan was to add this fan controller next to an existing wall switch near the door. The wall switch controls an outlet on the other side of the wall. I converted the single box into a double gang box and found the following wires inside:

--Green ground, spliced together
--White wire, spliced together
--Black wire, one into bottom of switch (hot), one into top of switch (cold)

Basically, the wall controller for the fan needs constant power. It is NOT wired in any way to the fan in the ceiling. It has two black wires coming out the back, and one ground. I tried just hooking the black wires from the fan controller to the black wires inside the box where the switch was. It worked perfectly fine, controlled the fan just fine.

However, I wanted to have both the fan controller and the switch operational. I also wanted the switch not to interfere with the fan controller at all. So basically, it would end up being a double gang box with wiring just like a switch and a constant power outlet.

So, I tried using this setup. I pigtailed the hot black into both the switch and the fan controller. I hooked the other black wire from the fan controller to the white wire in the box (I assumed it's just a return wire, to complete the circuit). I hooked the remaining black wire to the switch. Both grounds hooked into the same ground wire.

I turned everything on. The switch worked perfectly, controlling the wall outlet. The fan controller had power for a split second, then lost power all together and doesn't work at all. Any ideas as to what I could have done wrong?

(Yellow in this diagram is white)


BCeagle08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 03:39 PM   #2
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 697
Default

Converting switch to switch & constant power outlet


should be hot black to fan controller and one terminal on switch, other black to other terminal, all whites(neutral) together, all grounds together as you described. check your connections

Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 07:31 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Converting switch to switch & constant power outlet


Speaking to someone else, apparently this harbor breeze controller is not actually wireless? It sends a signal through the electrical system in your house to the receiver attached to the fan, and that's how it controls it.

It's this model.

http://www.lowes.com/pd_179384-1811-...arbor%20Breeze

Looking at the wiring instructions, it does say "black in" and then "black out to fan" for the two connections on the back of the controller. So I suppose I need to find a way to wire this into the black wires in the wall, while keeping it independent of the switch. I can't use the constant power white return like you would for an outlet. Any ideas?
BCeagle08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 09:07 PM   #4
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 697
Default

Converting switch to switch & constant power outlet


to use that you'll have to get a cable(xx-2 if switch does not require a neutral, xx-3 if it does.) from the fan box to the switch box
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 09:34 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Converting switch to switch & constant power outlet


Sure defeats the purpose of buying a wireless remote! Stupid design. Looks like I'm running a wire down from the attic to the box. Oh well.
BCeagle08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding new GFCI outlet to existing light switch idzrvit Electrical 15 11-20-2011 09:16 PM
2 way switch mystery.. no power at switch but power at light when turned on vote4Pedro Electrical 18 06-27-2011 10:25 PM
New outlet using power from a nearby switch. surecook Electrical 23 10-16-2009 06:27 PM
No power in outlet sherben2 Electrical 16 03-19-2009 11:35 AM
Outlet controlled by switch Shardi Electrical 4 10-09-2005 06:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.