Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2012, 04:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
ogoa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Converting single phase to three phase


The machine I want to purchse requires a three phase and 230 volts.

I am not sure whether I have single phase or a three phase and amount of voltage. If it happens to be a single phase, are there any solutions to making it a three phase with 230+ voltage to run my machine?

I looked into some convertors and what not, but you guys would know more than me... any convertors that would work, or other solutions?

thanks!

ogoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 04:45 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Converting single phase to three phase


If it's three phase you will have three hots and one neutral four wires going into your panel. If this is at a home it's most likely a single phase.

Another thing you will have to check how many amps available and how many amps the machine takes.


Last edited by rrolleston; 02-05-2012 at 04:49 PM.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 04:56 PM   #3
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,596
Default

Converting single phase to three phase


It depends on the type of machine. Some are more picky about their power than others.

If it's motors only and none are loaded to 100% a rotary phase converter would very likely work. You need to be careful of the control circuit here, don't connect it to the manufactured phase.

If it's one or more motors that all run at the same time, and the total load is less than 5HP, a VFD would be a good choice. Motors run on a VFD can operate at very close to 100% of their capacity. Again, the control circuit cannot be connected to the load side of the VFD.

A static phase converter will run a 3 motor at about 60% of its capacity.
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 05:00 PM   #4
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,657
Default

Converting single phase to three phase


Quote:
Originally Posted by ogoa View Post
The machine I want to purchse requires a three phase and 230 volts.
I looked into some convertors and what not, but...
You don't want a "converter". You want a "transformer".
Plain vanilla everyday item. Not so cheap but still plenty common.

As to the specific size/rating etc...
Contact the tool or machine company for what solution they have used before.
TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 05:13 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,026
Default

Converting single phase to three phase


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
You don't want a "converter". You want a "transformer".
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to zappa For This Useful Post:
plummen (02-05-2012)
Old 02-05-2012, 05:46 PM   #6
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,596
Default

Converting single phase to three phase


A transformer cannot make 3 from single phase.

The most common ways to get 3 power from a single phase source are;

1) Static phase converter. This is the least costly, but also has the most drawbacks.

2) Rotary phase converter.

3) VFD that will accept or is designed for single phase input.

I don't know of any others.

Rob
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to micromind For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (02-05-2012), mpoulton (02-05-2012), plummen (02-05-2012)
Old 02-05-2012, 05:46 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

Converting single phase to three phase


Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa

Second that.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 06:19 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,248
Default

Converting single phase to three phase


http://www.phaseconverter.com/
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 07:27 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,454
Default

Converting single phase to three phase


A rotary convertor is an option,
So to is an electronic based invertor,
depending on currant capacity needed !
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 08:20 PM   #10
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,548
Default

Converting single phase to three phase


Post all of the technical information about the machine and we could probably give better advice.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
plummen (02-05-2012)
Old 02-05-2012, 08:34 PM   #11
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Converting single phase to three phase


Depending on the size of the machine motor, it may be cheaper to change out the motor. What's the HP rating of the machine?
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 09:04 PM   #12
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,901
Default

Converting single phase to three phase


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
You don't want a "converter". You want a "transformer".
Plain vanilla everyday item. Not so cheap but still plenty common.

As to the specific size/rating etc...
Contact the tool or machine company for what solution they have used before.
Uh yeah,last time I looked a transformer was for stepping voltage up or down.
Hang on let me look on my pole out back...............,yep thats still what it does!
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 09:33 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,454
Default

Converting single phase to three phase


I dont think a tranny would work !
Whilst a tranny could step up the voltage !
And you could get three secondary windings !
What you wont get is the phase seperation that
three phase motors need !
I.E. 120 degree's difference between phases.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 09:36 PM   #14
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,901
Default

Converting single phase to three phase


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
I dont think a tranny would work !
Whilst a tranny could step up the voltage !
And you could get three secondary windings !
What you wont get is the phase seperation that
three phase motors need !
I.E. 120 degree's difference between phases.
Exactly,2 totally differant creatures alltogether

__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting 3 phase equipment to single phase /VFD? lightison Electrical 7 01-04-2011 03:14 PM
Wiring Single Phase through 3 Phase socket tonyr417 Electrical 10 10-26-2010 09:09 PM
Want to add a single phase Subpanel to three Phase Main meglomachinist Electrical 19 09-10-2009 03:46 PM
How to power a 120/240 volt 3 phase oven in a building with 120/240 volt single phase wantsomegetsome Electrical 9 05-04-2009 10:49 AM
Converting std 220v/60hz to Single phase 240V 3-wire jryali Electrical 19 03-23-2009 11:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.