Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-02-2013, 11:51 AM   #16
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,866
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
As far as typical electric dryers go it doesn't matter. You still adapt the dryer to the circuit, not the other way around.
Speedy... I agree and there is no argument... but your statement does assume that the circut is sufficient to service the dryer, which does not appear to be the case here.

Best

__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MTN REMODEL LLC For This Useful Post:
sublime2 (06-02-2013)
Old 06-02-2013, 12:04 PM   #17
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post
I suppose it's possible but all washers and dryers I've ever seen have ALWAYS come with a wall cord attached.

When possible it's better to use gas than use a 110v dryer. The 110v units typically don't work as efficiently as a 220 unit or gas. The heaters just don't typically get as hot. It ends up taking longer for the clothes to dry and burns a lot more electric in the process.

That and the dryer might have had a 20amp 110v plug on it. The idea is if the outlet is capable of handling that much draw then it'll have that kind of plug on it. A regular 15amp socket won't support the higher load the dryer would put on it, especially not an electric one. It's generally a bad idea to put a 110 plug on a high-load appliance. You "can" but unless the wiring in the wall was set up to handle the load you REALLY SHOULD NOT. Nor should anyone ever change a breaker inside the cabinet to a higher value unless the wire inside the wall can handle it. Otherwise you risk the wire inside the wall overheating and catching fire.

What model number is this dryer? That might be a better place to start.

LOL.... washer yes dryer NO .....

How do it know if its a 4 prong or 3 prong dyer outlet ???
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 04:24 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Not sure if this helps but the full specs are 115/230V 3 Wire 60 CYC. 4800 Watts. And this is an old dryer with no light and analog controls. Thank you for all of your help.
jas0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 04:36 PM   #19
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by jas0n View Post
Not sure if this helps but the full specs are 115/230V 3 Wire 60 CYC. 4800 Watts. And this is an old dryer with no light and analog controls. Thank you for all of your help.

4800 watts @ 120 would be 40 amps ...LOL

analog ???
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 04:45 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
4800 watts @ 120 would be 40 amps ...LOL

analog ???
The LOL is not really helpful to me. We don't have a lot of money to take care of this and our first baby will be here in a couple of months. I just want to get this done in a way that is safe for my family and don't need the extra stress. When I say analog I mean that there is not digital controls. Just an old dial control and since there is no light bulb inside the dryer I'm not sure if it would need 110 for anything separately.
jas0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 05:17 PM   #21
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,726
Rewards Points: 1,332
Default

Converting a dryer plug


You need to either get your landlord to install the 240V circuit, or get a gas dryer.
There is no way your current dryer can be run on 120V.
(I don't like 120V dryers, which you would have to buy new, they take to long to dry)

If you landlord installs the 240V, he will have to install the 4 wire version that Frenchelectrician showed you. You can pick up a 4 wire (4 prong) cord for your dryer at almost any hardware store. If you have it there when the electrician comes, he might be kind enough to change it for you.

The running cost of a gas dryer is less than an electric. My inclination would be just get the gas dryer, even if purchased used or refurbished.
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 05:41 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by jas0n View Post
I bought an old Maytag washer/dryer set. When we moved in to our new apartment our landlord told us it was ready for a gas or electric dryer. Shame on me for not checking first before I bought the dryer. The laundry room only has normal 110 outlets. The dryer I bought has a 3 prong plug with one prong that is L shaped. The specification plate on the dryer says 115v/230v. So I went to Home Depot and the guy sold me a 110 end to rewire to the end of the dryer. I cut the 3 prong L shaped plug off the end of the cord and there are no color coated sheaths on the 3 wires so I have no idea which wires go to the black white and green wires on the new 110 end or if this is even the right way to go about this conversion. Just a little more information........The dryer does not have anything on it to specify the amps that it needs and all the breakers on the house are 20 amps. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated as we cannot really afford an electrician right now.? ???????
The "analog" dial you're referring to operates at 115v (it is not mechanical), while the heating element requires 230.

So, if you don't have an existing 3-prong receptacle (like below)
You will need to either get a 4-prong (like below)



installed, along with the circuit, and along with a 4-prong cord, or you'll have to get a Gas Dryer.

Your landlord needs to do this.

Please don't try to rig anything, like cutting prongs, to fit.
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 06:04 PM   #23
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,866
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by jas0n View Post
The LOL is not really helpful to me. We don't have a lot of money to take care of this and our first baby will be here in a couple of months. I just want to get this done in a way that is safe for my family and don't need the extra stress. When I say analog I mean that there is not digital controls. Just an old dial control and since there is no light bulb inside the dryer I'm not sure if it would need 110 for anything separately.
Jason.... We all just use LOL... as a friendly way to say "I was right, it's not a 120 dryer" which no one was absolutely sure of untill you posted it's specs...

There honestly is no question or confusion any longer as to what you have.... and SirSparky and Oso have told you your only, unfortunaetly, options. Soooory.

(Home Depot was no where near the ballpark, and actually extreemly dangerous)

Not all landlords are bad, and maybe your man/lady will have that new circut put in for you, or if it is a really difficult expensive install, maybe they'll just buy a gas dryer for ya (and for their rental)

Good luck with the new addition (usually means something different on this site), but he/she'll be a much better addition than this site cann do.

Best to ya
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MTN REMODEL LLC For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (06-02-2013), sublime2 (06-02-2013)
Old 06-02-2013, 09:17 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Converting a dryer plug


We're really luck I guess in my area where at least the HD I go to has a Supervisor who really does know his chit. He would never in a million years suggest anything like this. Of course when he's not there, then oh well.
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 09:19 PM   #25
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,342
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Converting a dryer plug


These home improvement stores should not be giving out any advice on how to do something or what is legal. I'm surprised it isn't a company policy that is strictly adhered to due to the liability involved.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (06-02-2013)
Old 06-02-2013, 09:21 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
These home improvement stores should not be giving out any advice on how to do something or what is legal. I'm surprised it isn't a company policy that is strictly adhered to due to the liability involved.
I absolutely agree, but they all do, as well as Lowes. Haven't been to Menards much, but they probably do too.
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 09:22 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Converting a dryer plug


I've often wondered about the "Master Electrical Specialist" label some of them have. Does this mean they are Master Electricians? I doubting it. I think it means they have mastered the parts inventory.
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 09:24 PM   #28
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,342
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
I've often wondered about the "Master Electrical Specialist" label some of them have. Does this mean they are Master Electricians? I doubting it. I think it means they have mastered the parts inventory.
Never noticed it, but I avoid the employees. I will go to a different store before I ask for help locating what I'm looking for.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 09:34 PM   #29
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,866
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
We're really luck I guess in my area where at least the HD I go to has a Supervisor who really does know his chit. He would never in a million years suggest anything like this. Of course when he's not there, then oh well.
Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
These home improvement stores should not be giving out any advice on how to do something or what is legal. I'm surprised it isn't a company policy that is strictly adhered to due to the liability involved.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
I absolutely agree, but they all do, as well as Lowes. Haven't been to Menards much, but they probably do too.
Guys... I am not a sparky, but my experience is exactly yours. I've got a fellow at HD that is expert retired sparky, and can answer all those non routine issues and he will be dead right, or tell you, "I don't know".

Then there are the less than good, who will tell you an AFIC is a GFI breaker.

Incidentally, speaking (BS'ing) with managers, they are instructed to not give any "code advice".

Truthfully, this site for me is one of the very best. We all sometimes make wrong or deficient comments, but someone always corrects it...THAT'S GOOD in my book
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MTN REMODEL LLC For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (06-02-2013), sirsparksalot (06-02-2013)
Old 06-03-2013, 12:22 AM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Alright well thank you for all of your input. It really is a time saver to post on these forums and get back so many responses at a time. Sorry I didn't post all the specs to begin with and make it a little easier for everyone. The only thing I am wondering now before I actually have an electrician come and look at it is how much it might cost. I'm kind of doubting that the wiring in this place is setup to make the conversion easy. The house was built in 2006, and the rest of the appliances are gas. All of the breakers are 20 amp except the A/C has 30 amps. I know it wouldn't be too expensive if just the outlet and breaker has to be swapped out, but I have no idea what the cost would be if any wiring would have to be done??

jas0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dryer 3 plug with bonding jumper Bassreflex Appliances 10 02-08-2013 06:23 AM
220 dryer plug connecting to tanning bed Tbtburg1963 Electrical 4 11-06-2011 07:15 PM
Wiring a 220V dryer plug on a 110 power panel , in Mexico dtedham Electrical 1 04-14-2011 06:15 PM
3 wire with ground to 3 prong dryer plug dgbunk Electrical 9 10-19-2010 02:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.