Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-02-2013, 12:12 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Converting a dryer plug


I bought an old Maytag washer/dryer set. When we moved in to our new apartment our landlord told us it was ready for a gas or electric dryer. Shame on me for not checking first before I bought the dryer. The laundry room only has normal 110 outlets. The dryer I bought has a 3 prong plug with one prong that is L shaped. The specification plate on the dryer says 115v/230v. So I went to Home Depot and the guy sold me a 110 end to rewire to the end of the dryer. I cut the 3 prong L shaped plug off the end of the cord and there are no color coated sheaths on the 3 wires so I have no idea which wires go to the black white and green wires on the new 110 end or if this is even the right way to go about this conversion. Just a little more information........The dryer does not have anything on it to specify the amps that it needs and all the breakers on the house are 20 amps. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated as we cannot really afford an electrician right now.? ???????

jas0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 12:27 AM   #2
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,108
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by jas0n View Post
I bought an old Maytag washer/dryer set. When we moved in to our new apartment our landlord told us it was ready for a gas or electric dryer. Shame on me for not checking first before I bought the dryer. The laundry room only has normal 110 outlets. The dryer I bought has a 3 prong plug with one prong that is L shaped. The specification plate on the dryer says 115v/230v. So I went to Home Depot and the guy sold me a 110 end to rewire to the end of the dryer. I cut the 3 prong L shaped plug off the end of the cord and there are no color coated sheaths on the 3 wires so I have no idea which wires go to the black white and green wires on the new 110 end or if this is even the right way to go about this conversion. Just a little more information........The dryer does not have anything on it to specify the amps that it needs and all the breakers on the house are 20 amps. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated as we cannot really afford an electrician right now.? ???????
The guy at home Depot is an idiot!
An electric dryer has that special plug for a reason. The dryer needs a 30 amp line with 2 hots and a neutral.

sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 12:31 AM   #3
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,108
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post

The guy at home Depot is an idiot!
An electric dryer has that special plug for a reason. The dryer needs a 30 amp line with 2 hots and a neutral.
You don't change the plug on the dryer, you change the receptacle to accept that plug. The reason for the special plug is so you can't plug it in wrong and fry the dryer or yourself.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sublime2 For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (06-02-2013)
Old 06-02-2013, 01:28 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,660
Rewards Points: 2,280
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Contact the manfacturer of the dryer,
Ask if it can be configered for 120v operation ?
And what current it will need at this voltage ?
Until you know these answers you cannot proceed !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (06-02-2013)
Old 06-02-2013, 03:31 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by jas0n View Post
I bought an old Maytag washer/dryer set. When we moved in to our new apartment our landlord told us it was ready for a gas or electric dryer. Shame on me for not checking first before I bought the dryer. The laundry room only has normal 110 outlets. The dryer I bought has a 3 prong plug with one prong that is L shaped. The specification plate on the dryer says 115v/230v. So I went to Home Depot and the guy sold me a 110 end to rewire to the end of the dryer. I cut the 3 prong L shaped plug off the end of the cord and there are no color coated sheaths on the 3 wires so I have no idea which wires go to the black white and green wires on the new 110 end or if this is even the right way to go about this conversion. Just a little more information........The dryer does not have anything on it to specify the amps that it needs and all the breakers on the house are 20 amps. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated as we cannot really afford an electrician right now.? ???????
First of all the landlord should verify the connection and it should have the 30 amp 120/240 volt dryer circuit allready in there.

That first step .,

Now whatever the big orange store guy told ya that is way and I mean way out of wacker with that kind of advise to you. That person have no bussiness to do this at all.

Now you will have to set up a meeting with your landlord to see what the soluation to this situation.

One thing unforetally if there were no actual 30 amp dryer circuit in there then the landlord will have to hire the electrician to come out and wire it in the place.

The only legit type you will have to use is the 4 conductor with 4 blade cord set up per NEC code requirement.

Let me post what the typical 4 wire dryer receptale and plug will be.



Dryer plug



I know there is couple electrique dryer can run on 120 volt 20 amp circuit but IMO not really the moot point in here unless you have very small dryer that can be used on that circuit unless you have gaz there then it will be no issue.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (06-02-2013)
Old 06-02-2013, 07:13 AM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
You don't change the plug on the dryer, you change the receptacle to accept that plug. The reason for the special plug is so you can't plug it in wrong and fry the dryer or yourself.
The bold part is 100% opposite. You DO replace the cord to match the circuit/receptacle. This is why dryers and ranges do NOT come with cords attached. The only thing this applies to though is a 30A-120/240V circuit.

You CANNOT change a 120/240V dryer to work on a 15 or 20A 120V circuit.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (06-02-2013), Jim Port (06-02-2013), Kyle_in_rure (06-02-2013), mpoulton (06-02-2013), MTN REMODEL LLC (06-02-2013), sirsparksalot (06-02-2013)
Old 06-02-2013, 09:01 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by jas0n View Post
I bought an old Maytag washer/dryer set. When we moved in to our new apartment our landlord told us it was ready for a gas or electric dryer. Shame on me for not checking first before I bought the dryer. The laundry room only has normal 110 outlets. The dryer I bought has a 3 prong plug with one prong that is L shaped. The specification plate on the dryer says 115v/230v. So I went to Home Depot and the guy sold me a 110 end to rewire to the end of the dryer. I cut the 3 prong L shaped plug off the end of the cord and there are no color coated sheaths on the 3 wires so I have no idea which wires go to the black white and green wires on the new 110 end or if this is even the right way to go about this conversion. Just a little more information........The dryer does not have anything on it to specify the amps that it needs and all the breakers on the house are 20 amps. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated as we cannot really afford an electrician right now.? ???????
Obvisouly the laundry room is set up for GAS dryer ... so take back your electric dryer and exchange it for a gas one ...
Gas Dryer only needs a 120v outlet for the controls
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Philly Master For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (06-02-2013)
Old 06-02-2013, 09:05 AM   #8
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Basically. You need to get a gas dryer, which will fit into your current receptacle. The Home Depot guy is wrong, you cannot just change the plug on the dryer in this case, because you would be trying to power a 240 volt 30 amp appliance with only 120 volts, which will not work.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Kyle_in_rure For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (06-02-2013), MTN REMODEL LLC (06-02-2013)
Old 06-02-2013, 10:46 AM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Converting a dryer plug


The 120/240 V spec means the dryer uses both 120V and 240V. It does not mean that the dryer can run on 120V or 240V.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (06-02-2013), sirsparksalot (06-02-2013)
Old 06-02-2013, 10:52 AM   #10
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,877
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
You don't change the plug on the dryer, you change the receptacle to accept that plug. The reason for the special plug is so you can't plug it in wrong and fry the dryer or yourself.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
The bold part is 100% opposite. You DO replace the cord to match the circuit/receptacle. This is why dryers and ranges do NOT come with cords attached. The only thing this applies to though is a 30A-120/240V circuit.

You CANNOT change a 120/240V dryer to work on a 15 or 20A 120V circuit.
Speedy... I could be wrong, but I bet sublime meant change not just the recep but the circut also.

Your point is well taken though... someone has to be pretty precise when advising/ discussing with a babe novice.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 11:18 AM   #11
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,108
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by MTN REMODEL LLC View Post

Speedy... I could be wrong, but I bet sublime meant change not just the recep but the circut also.

Your point is well taken though... someone has to be pretty precise when advising/ discussing with a babe novice.
That is correct.
Thanks.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 11:34 AM   #12
Bill Kearney
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,979
Rewards Points: 1,126
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
The bold part is 100% opposite. You DO replace the cord to match the circuit/receptacle. This is why dryers and ranges do NOT come with cords attached. The only thing this applies to though is a 30A-120/240V circuit.

You CANNOT change a 120/240V dryer to work on a 15 or 20A 120V circuit.
I suppose it's possible but all washers and dryers I've ever seen have ALWAYS come with a wall cord attached.

When possible it's better to use gas than use a 110v dryer. The 110v units typically don't work as efficiently as a 220 unit or gas. The heaters just don't typically get as hot. It ends up taking longer for the clothes to dry and burns a lot more electric in the process.

That and the dryer might have had a 20amp 110v plug on it. The idea is if the outlet is capable of handling that much draw then it'll have that kind of plug on it. A regular 15amp socket won't support the higher load the dryer would put on it, especially not an electric one. It's generally a bad idea to put a 110 plug on a high-load appliance. You "can" but unless the wiring in the wall was set up to handle the load you REALLY SHOULD NOT. Nor should anyone ever change a breaker inside the cabinet to a higher value unless the wire inside the wall can handle it. Otherwise you risk the wire inside the wall overheating and catching fire.

What model number is this dryer? That might be a better place to start.

Last edited by wkearney99; 06-02-2013 at 11:39 AM.
wkearney99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 11:39 AM   #13
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by MTN REMODEL LLC View Post
Speedy... I could be wrong, but I bet sublime meant change not just the recep but the circut also.
As far as typical electric dryers go it doesn't matter. You still adapt the dryer to the circuit, not the other way around.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 11:40 AM   #14
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post
I suppose it's possible but all washers and dryers I've ever seen have ALWAYS come with a wall cord attached.
That's funny, because I have NEVER seen an "electric" dryer come out of the box with a cord attached.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (06-02-2013), jbfan (06-02-2013), rjniles (06-02-2013)
Old 06-02-2013, 11:51 AM   #15
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,108
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Converting a dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
As far as typical electric dryers go it doesn't matter. You still adapt the dryer to the circuit, not the other way around.
So he can just change the plug from a 110/220 plug that was originally on the dryer to a normal 110v plug in this case?


Last edited by sublime2; 06-02-2013 at 12:07 PM.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dryer 3 plug with bonding jumper Bassreflex Appliances 10 02-08-2013 06:23 AM
220 dryer plug connecting to tanning bed Tbtburg1963 Electrical 4 11-06-2011 07:15 PM
Wiring a 220V dryer plug on a 110 power panel , in Mexico dtedham Electrical 1 04-14-2011 06:15 PM
3 wire with ground to 3 prong dryer plug dgbunk Electrical 9 10-19-2010 02:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.