Converting 50 Amp To 30 Amp - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2009, 08:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Converting 50 amp to 30 amp


My stove recently broke. The outlet is a 50 amp. My aunt gave me a stove, but it has a 30 amp plug. She says there is a way to just switch the plug. Is that so? And how would I go about doing that?

Advertisement

jinLA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 08:57 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Converting 50 amp to 30 amp


If she gave you what appears to be a standard range, you might want to consider changing the cord instead of changing the outlet.

What is the nameplate rating on the appliance?

Advertisement

kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 09:03 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Converting 50 amp to 30 amp


Replace the receptacle (outlet; socket) and also replace the 50 amp breaker down in the panel with a 30 amp breaker. The stove cord and plug remain unaltered.

There could be complications. If the plug for the new stove has neutral and/or ground contacts that the original cable to the old receptacle does not provide conductors for, you would need to string a new 6* gauge 3 conductor plus ground cable down to the panel before you can complete the project.

If only a ground conductor is needed and lacking you can string just a ground conductor to the panel more or less following the route of the existing cable.

* 10 gauge will carry 30 amps but it would be nice to future proof the installation for 50 amps for the next owner of the house.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 03-29-2009 at 09:16 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 12:10 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Converting 50 amp to 30 amp


If the new stove cord has the same number of pins as the 50 amp receptacle change the plug on the stove. It's a lot easier putting 30 amp wires in a 50 amp plug than it is putting 50 amp wires in a 30 amp receptacle and breaker.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 07:25 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Converting 50 amp to 30 amp


I have yet to see a free standing unit require yes than 40 amps.
I'm betting someone wire the old unit with a dryer receptacle.
Check the name plate on the unit and get back to us!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 07:51 AM   #6
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Converting 50 amp to 30 amp


Unless it is a gas range, the minimum required ampacity will be 40A, which requires a 50A plug and receptacle. Someone apparently miswired this initially. As others have said, check the wattage, but plan on changing the cord to a 50A cord.

Advertisement

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting 220v dryer to 110v dbielinski Appliances 17 09-05-2012 06:45 PM
Converting Electric to Gas stove LaurynJohnny Appliances 16 03-26-2010 09:08 PM
converting propane boiler to natural gas drewhart HVAC 25 01-15-2009 06:23 AM
Converting from Gas to Electric Stove Chloe Appliances 1 06-14-2008 04:06 PM
I'm converting a two family home from oil to gas and need info on... everything. Neep HVAC 3 10-23-2007 09:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts