Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-02-2010, 06:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1
Share |
Unhappy

converting a 4 prong dryer outlet into a 3 prong


we have just moved into a home we are in the process of buying. Our dryer cord is a three prong and the outlet is a four prong, therefore we are needing to changed the outlet to a three prong. the problem is the wires. not sure what to do w/ the copper wire. there is a white, which is the ground wire; a neutral copper wire; and hot wires red and black. please help?!?!

dntbro1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 06:56 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

converting a 4 prong dryer outlet into a 3 prong


the white is the neutral and the bare or green wire is the ground wire.


what you need to do is change the cord and plug on the dryer to a 4 prong. If you look where the cord attaches to the terminals, you should see where the neutral wired connection has a bonding strip or wire that attaches to the frame of the dryer as well. That would need to be removed and the ground wire in the new cord gets attached to the dryer frame. The neutral will go to the terminal where the neutral is currently hooked up and the 2 hot wires to the terminals the hot wires are currently attached to.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 07:18 PM   #3
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

converting a 4 prong dryer outlet into a 3 prong


And be prepared too.... those cords and plugs cost as much as you paid for the dryer......

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 07:25 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

converting a 4 prong dryer outlet into a 3 prong


they can be pricey. Here is a google shopping page for 4 wire dryer cords to give you an idea.

http://www.google.com/products?q=dry...ire&hl=en&aq=f
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 07:30 PM   #5
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Default

converting a 4 prong dryer outlet into a 3 prong


Yeah I'd change the cord, the 4 prong is the newer standard, I believe. If you ever buy a new dryer it will come with a 4 prong.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 08:15 PM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

converting a 4 prong dryer outlet into a 3 prong


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
Yeah I'd change the cord, the 4 prong is the newer standard, I believe. If you ever buy a new dryer it will come with a 4 prong.
If there is a 4 wire recep, they cannot legally change it to a 3 wire anyway.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 09:44 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

converting a 4 prong dryer outlet into a 3 prong


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
Yeah I'd change the cord, the 4 prong is the newer standard, I believe. If you ever buy a new dryer it will come with a 4 prong.
Change the cord = correct procedure.

New dryers do not come with a cord. Those are attached either by the store selling them (or their warehouse/delivery personnel), or by you (or your electrician).

I have found that many such cords are improperly wired as well.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 10:21 PM   #8
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Default

converting a 4 prong dryer outlet into a 3 prong


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Change the cord = correct procedure.

New dryers do not come with a cord. Those are attached either by the store selling them (or their warehouse/delivery personnel), or by you (or your electrician).

I have found that many such cords are improperly wired as well.
When I bought my dryer it was already wired, so guess the store may have done it. I would guess it's not that hard if you follow the instructions. Not something you'd want to mess up. I'm guessing the motor needs 120 but the element needs 240. don't want to mix up the connections.

When I bought my house, it came with a FREE! Speed Queen dryer. Starting that thing up was like flipping the main "on" switch to a 1930's warhead factory. It was also hard wired into the panel, guess that's one way to save from worrying about an outlet and cord.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 10:25 PM   #9
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

converting a 4 prong dryer outlet into a 3 prong


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post

When I bought my house, it came with a FREE! Speed Queen dryer. :
trust me, it wasn't free. You did pay for it somewhere.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a 220v jointer to a dryer outlet popeka Electrical 7 12-13-2009 09:33 PM
Dryer outlet Davide Electrical 3 02-25-2009 11:48 AM
Please help, changing dryer cord from 3 prong to 4 prong oldpirate Electrical 8 08-10-2008 04:42 PM
dryer Outlet change 3 prong to 4 prong oldpirate General DIY Discussions 2 08-06-2008 06:18 PM
Clothes Dryer / Outlet homercavazos Electrical 8 10-30-2007 04:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.