Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-03-2012, 12:37 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 92
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Converting a 30 Amp 120/240V circuit into two 20 Amp 120V circuits


I presently have a 30 Amp 120/240V dedicated circuit that powers a mini kitchenette appliance with two electric stove burners and a small refrigerator. I would like to remove this all-in-one appliance, and in its place, install an undercounter refrigerator and cabinet/wall mounted microwave.

Can I take the 30 Amp 120/240 circuit and split it into two separate 20 Amp 120V circuits?

The 30 Amp 120/240 circuit is wired with 10/3 from the panel to a surface mounted receptacle behind the kitchenette appliance. I'm thinking of replacing that receptacle with a junction box. From there, run a 12/2 to a standard receptacle for the microwave, and another 12/2 to another receptacle for the refrigerator.

#10 hot (black) ---------------> #12 hot (black - microwave circuit)
#10 neutral (white) <====== #12 neutrals (whites from microwave & refrigerator)
#10 hot (red) ------------------> #12 hot (black - refrigerator circuit)

Then at the panel swap out the 30 Amp double-pole breaker, and replace with 20 amp breaker.

If this plan is acceptable:
1. Do I replace the 30 Amp double-pole breaker with two 20 amp single-pole breakers or a 20 amp double-pole breaker?
2. There is not a problem sharing the #10 neutral return, whether the microwave or refrigerator condenser is operating separately or concurrently?

sixspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 12:48 AM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Converting a 30 Amp 120/240V circuit into two 20 Amp 120V circuits


I find nothing wrong with any of your ideas. It all looks good. As of the 2008 NEC you would need to install a 2P breaker or two single pole breakers with a handle tie for a multi-wire branch circuit.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 12:57 AM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Converting a 30 Amp 120/240V circuit into two 20 Amp 120V circuits


I know you say Red , Black , White but where is green or bare ground conductor ? if so you are good to go.

( Let us know if you do ran this in the EMT conduit that will useally a big plus )

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 01:08 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 92
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Converting a 30 Amp 120/240V circuit into two 20 Amp 120V circuits


What is the NEC reasoning for requiring 2P/tied breakers when the circuits are serving two physically separated 120v appliances?


The 10/3 cable is actually an armored metal cable with no separate bare ground. I would attach it to a metal junction box, then bond a pigtail to the box and tie all the bare grounds from the new cables to the pigtail.
Thanks for the clarifying the details.
sixspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 02:58 AM   #5
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 701
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Converting a 30 Amp 120/240V circuit into two 20 Amp 120V circuits


because if you only turn one hot of a mwbc off, the neutral is still carrying current, and can shock you.


If this is actually an armored cable, and there is no 'bond strip' (usually folded back at the end of the cable), then you do not have a functional ground per the NEC.
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 07:10 AM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Converting a 30 Amp 120/240V circuit into two 20 Amp 120V circuits


Sound like this is in a kitchen so it would require GFI protection also.

You could just add the junction box and add a 2 gang cover plate.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 07:28 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Converting a 30 Amp 120/240V circuit into two 20 Amp 120V circuits


If you don't have a proper ground then you could use a 30 amp single pole breaker and use 30 amp 120v circuit. Either way since 10 gauge is such a pain to work with I would install a small outdoor panel and use smaller wire with GFCI breakers for everything except the fridge.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 08:09 AM   #8
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,090
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Converting a 30 Amp 120/240V circuit into two 20 Amp 120V circuits


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
If you don't have a proper ground then you could use a 30 amp single pole breaker and use 30 amp 120v circuit.
What would this accomplish?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Either way since 10 gauge is such a pain to work with I would install a small outdoor panel and use smaller wire with GFCI breakers for everything except the fridge.
That is just crazy, why install a panel when he can just install a jbox and accomplish the same exact thing?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 08:13 AM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,090
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Converting a 30 Amp 120/240V circuit into two 20 Amp 120V circuits


Quote:
Originally Posted by sixspeed View Post
I presently have a 30 Amp 120/240V dedicated circuit that powers a mini kitchenette appliance with two electric stove burners and a small refrigerator. I would like to remove this all-in-one appliance, and in its place, install an undercounter refrigerator and cabinet/wall mounted microwave.

Can I take the 30 Amp 120/240 circuit and split it into two separate 20 Amp 120V circuits?

The 30 Amp 120/240 circuit is wired with 10/3 from the panel to a surface mounted receptacle behind the kitchenette appliance. I'm thinking of replacing that receptacle with a junction box. From there, run a 12/2 to a standard receptacle for the microwave, and another 12/2 to another receptacle for the refrigerator.

#10 hot (black) ---------------> #12 hot (black - microwave circuit)
#10 neutral (white) <====== #12 neutrals (whites from microwave & refrigerator)
#10 hot (red) ------------------> #12 hot (black - refrigerator circuit)

Then at the panel swap out the 30 Amp double-pole breaker, and replace with 20 amp breaker.

If this plan is acceptable:
1. Do I replace the 30 Amp double-pole breaker with two 20 amp single-pole breakers or a 20 amp double-pole breaker?
2. There is not a problem sharing the #10 neutral return, whether the microwave or refrigerator condenser is operating separately or concurrently?
This is all acceptable, just change out the breaker to a double pole 20 and you're good to go. I would just verify that the existing 10-3 cable does in fact contain a bonding strip inside...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 10:03 AM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Converting a 30 Amp 120/240V circuit into two 20 Amp 120V circuits


That is just crazy, why install a panel when he can just install a jbox and accomplish the same exact thing?[/QUOTE]

Disregard what I said.

I was thinking outdoor kitchen. I have many people thinking about those and had that on my mind at the time.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 10:04 AM   #11
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,090
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Converting a 30 Amp 120/240V circuit into two 20 Amp 120V circuits


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
That is just crazy, why install a panel when he can just install a jbox and accomplish the same exact thing?
Disregard what I said.

I was thinking outdoor kitchen. I have many people thinking about those and had that on my mind at the time.[/QUOTE]


HEHE, i was hoping your mind was somewhere else.

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 03:34 PM
Tripping breakers,neutrals,120 volts and 240 volts OH My!!! Stubbie Electrical 17 06-11-2011 06:09 AM
converting a compressor to run on 120v wizz1022 Electrical 1 05-04-2010 04:30 PM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 08:09 PM
Moving from 12/2 to 14/2 bbarnhart Electrical 4 12-04-2005 06:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.