Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-23-2011, 01:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Converting 3 prong to 4 prong on electric kiln


I have a 240 volt 50 amp electric kiln with a 3 prong plug. I have a 4 prong outlet for a dryer I would like to use. The kiln has 2 hots and the ground hooked up. Can I hook the new 4 prong cord up and just leave the neutral disconnected? Of course I don't want to burn down the house and wanted an expert opinion


Thanks!

ranger47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 01:16 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

Converting 3 prong to 4 prong on electric kiln


The rating on the dryer receptacle is 30 amps, and the kiln is rated for 50.
You can not use the dryer receptacle.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 01:22 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Converting 3 prong to 4 prong on electric kiln


I am a little confused about that because on one place on the kiln it says 50 amps and another place it says 25 amps
ranger47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 01:28 PM   #4
Electromagician
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Converting 3 prong to 4 prong on electric kiln


Quote:
Originally Posted by ranger47 View Post
I am a little confused about that because on one place on the kiln it says 50 amps and another place it says 25 amps
sorry but that is electrical hieroglyphics' for man the lifeboats we are way over our heads here.
powerfactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 04:27 PM   #5
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,559
Rewards Points: 2,014
Default

Converting 3 prong to 4 prong on electric kiln


Quote:
Originally Posted by ranger47 View Post
I am a little confused about that because on one place on the kiln it says 50 amps and another place it says 25 amps
Well you better figure that out for sure! Look on the rating plate of the kiln where it lists voltage, current, and probably wattage.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 05:24 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Converting 3 prong to 4 prong on electric kiln


See below. At the top it says 25 amps, but down below it says 50 amps. Its a cress model 328J kiln but I couldn't find much online.

ranger47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 06:02 PM   #7
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Converting 3 prong to 4 prong on electric kiln


If you go to the cress website you will see that it a 50 amp outlet
NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 06:13 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Converting 3 prong to 4 prong on electric kiln


So I emailed Cress and they said, "Go with the top decal, 25 amps." Also the real model number is B23H which is closest to this one
ranger47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 07:10 PM   #9
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Converting 3 prong to 4 prong on electric kiln


go with the mfg says
NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 07:24 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Converting 3 prong to 4 prong on electric kiln


So back to my question. The kiln has 2 hots and the ground hooked up. Can I hook the new 4 prong cord up and just leave the neutral disconnected?


Thanks!
ranger47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 08:40 PM   #11
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Converting 3 prong to 4 prong on electric kiln


Yes




make sure you tape the end, though
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 09:03 PM   #12
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,559
Rewards Points: 2,014
Default

Converting 3 prong to 4 prong on electric kiln


Quote:
Originally Posted by ranger47 View Post
See below. At the top it says 25 amps, but down below it says 50 amps. Its a cress model 328J kiln but I couldn't find much online.
It requires 25A. The lower label is on the Kiln Sitter, which is a completely separate device made by a separate company and installed as part of the kiln. The Kiln Sitter is a timer and automatic shutoff (using pyrometric bars) for the kiln, and the 50A rating is it's maximum allowable load. The upper nameplate is for the kiln itself, and says 25A.

Use a 4-wire cord and leave the neutral (white) disconnected.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 09:31 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Converting 3 prong to 4 prong on electric kiln


The hots on the old cord are both white. Does it matter which one goes where (red and black)? I will connect green (ground) and leave white disconnected.
ranger47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 11:00 PM   #14
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,559
Rewards Points: 2,014
Default

Converting 3 prong to 4 prong on electric kiln


The hots are interchangeable. Just make sure the ground goes to the frame.

mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting Gas Stove to an Electric Stove? LooptieLu Electrical 8 01-07-2011 11:20 AM
converting a 4 prong dryer outlet into a 3 prong dntbro1994 Electrical 8 07-02-2010 11:25 PM
Converting Electric to Gas stove LaurynJohnny Appliances 16 03-26-2010 09:08 PM
Converting duplex to single family--what to do with electric services? zamoti Electrical 32 01-29-2009 04:16 PM
Converting from Gas to Electric Stove Chloe Appliances 1 06-14-2008 04:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.