Converting 2 Prong To 3 Prong Outlets - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2013, 12:27 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tucson,AZ
Posts: 145
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Converting 2 prong to 3 prong outlets


A friends house was built in 1962. There is a 100A service panel. Circuit wiring is cloth covered romex 12/2 and 14/2 with ground that appears to be 18ga but not sure-definitely smaller than 14ga- somebody here probably knows what was standard then. All outlets are 2 prong with metal boxes grounded. Ground wires are connected to ground buss at panel. Can I convert to 3 prong using the existing ground wire if it is 18ga?

Advertisement

elmaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 12:35 PM   #2
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,321
Rewards Points: 548
Default

Converting 2 prong to 3 prong outlets


Quote:
Circuit wiring is cloth covered romex 12/2 and 14/2 with ground that appears to be 18ga but not sure-definitely smaller than 14ga
Say what???

14/2 would be 14g, 12/2 would be 12g....so if it's 18g then it's not 14/2 or 12/2.

To answer, if the ground wire goes all the way back to the panel then yes, you can use that to ground 3 prong receptacles.

EDIT: Nevermind about the first part. I know what you mean now. I think the ground is allowed to be a certain amount smaller than the H & N conductors, but not sure how much smaller....one of the pros will be along and be able to tell us both

Advertisement


Last edited by jproffer; 04-24-2013 at 12:37 PM.
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 12:37 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Converting 2 prong to 3 prong outlets


16 gage ground wires from back in that day.
It is not legal today to use a smaller ground for 15, 20 and 30 amp circuits, than a 14, 12, and 10.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
jproffer (04-24-2013)
Old 04-24-2013, 12:51 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tucson,AZ
Posts: 145
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Converting 2 prong to 3 prong outlets


I assume if it is not legal there is a safety concern? If so what is it?
elmaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 12:55 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Converting 2 prong to 3 prong outlets


The concern is the undersized ground wire could not handle the fault current.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 01:29 PM
New Home: 2 Prong Outlets & K&T Wiring (Maybe) weekley14 Electrical 4 05-29-2012 08:56 AM
Changing two prong electrical outlets to grounded three prongs Jabar714 Electrical 4 12-21-2010 02:14 AM
Replace 2 prong outlets with 3 prong outlets rpsjn4 Electrical 27 01-17-2010 02:34 PM
1990 Bounder Motorhome 3 prong outlets actally have no ground connected!! Help! Holering Electrical 5 03-30-2009 01:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts