Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-27-2011, 02:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Convert hardwire to plug for range


I am removing my mothers old drop in range which was hardwired to a new range which has a 3 prond plug. I have purchased the female plug and am ready to attach the wires to it, but I am not sure which wires go where. There is a silver wire (that looks like a bunch of skinny wires all twisted to form a big wire) , then there is a copper wire and then a black wire.

Which wire is the one that goes to the bottom of the plug?

bigbench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 03:21 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,969
Default

Convert hardwire to plug for range


Post a pictture, along with model and manufacturer of the range. How was the range wired before, with the direct connection? Also, does this new range require 4-wire connection vs. 3 wire?

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 04:01 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Convert hardwire to plug for range


The old range was about a 1997 GE drop in Range, the new range is a 2006 that already has the 3 prong cord attached and is ready to be moved into place and plugged in. The house was built around 1989 if that might help. I am not at my mothers right now so I can not take a picture of the wires.

The old drop in was hard wired and I do not remember how it was wired.

Last edited by bigbench; 09-27-2011 at 04:02 PM. Reason: better explanation
bigbench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 04:07 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,969
Default

Convert hardwire to plug for range


Well, you are going to have to remember, in order to get the new one to work.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
convert NEMA L14-20 receptical to standard three prong 240 v plug paula_stemer Electrical 2 08-06-2011 02:34 PM
Changing a hardwire ceiling fixture to plug in Kyle Bradford Electrical 2 09-10-2010 05:11 PM
Convert plug to light fixture? MeasureThrice Electrical 2 11-26-2009 09:19 PM
Hardwire a polarized plug Mrsfixit Electrical 3 10-23-2007 05:24 PM
Polarized plug light fixture- Hardwire to home electrical? timdavis3824 Electrical 3 07-09-2007 12:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.