Convectair Apero - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2007, 01:31 PM   #1
fishtayl
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Convectair Apero


I just purchased a Convectair Apero heater and want to install it where my old baseboard heater was. The guy in the store said I could connect it to a 110v connection.

But, after looking at the box it says that it must be hooked up to a 240v connection.

Without having an electrician check it, is there any way of knowing what wiring is already existing?

Advertisement

fishtayl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2007, 01:38 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Convectair Apero


Maybe. What wire is existing and what is it connected to???

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2007, 01:48 PM   #3
fishtayl
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Convectair Apero


I'm a bit of a dummy in the electrical area.

Can you clarify what you mean by what it is connected to? Currently, the wires that were connected to the old baseboard heater are just sticking out of the wall. There is black, red and what looks like copper wire (maybe the ground) all encased in a red casing. I can't see where it goes as it is just sticking out of the dry wall.
fishtayl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2007, 04:36 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Convectair Apero


IMHO, if you are not even sure how to test for power I would seriously consider having a pro do this.

If you really want to do it you will need a decent tester capable of testing for 240v. You need to safely cap off the wires coming out of the wall and turn them on. Then you need to insert the probes of the tester into the caps and see what the voltage is.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2007, 11:49 PM   #5
4th Year Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Coquitlam BC, Canada
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Convectair Apero


Get an electrician to do it... BUT as you said there are Red and Black wires... meaning its 240V (should be... but you never know with whoever the dumbass who installed it)
SwiftyMcV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2007, 11:54 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Convectair Apero


Actually, thinking about it, you are in Canada. You say the wire is red and black with a red outer sheathing? I'm almost certain in Canada this is strictly 240v cable. Maybe someone from up there can confirm this, but I'd bet that's the case.
I wouldn't do anything though without confirming it first though.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2007, 11:58 PM   #7
4th Year Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Coquitlam BC, Canada
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Convectair Apero


Yes in NEW homes your suppose to use RED LOOMEX specifically for Heating as in 240V. The individual conductors are Red and Black
SwiftyMcV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 12:03 AM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Convectair Apero


The OP is from Cananda and he did mention red sheating or loomex cable so with black and red wires there so very good chance it is a straght 240 volt sans netual wire only ground wire will be there.

but really IMO it best to check the voltage with the voltage tester to make sure you have true 240 volts at the connection there.


Merci, Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 12:36 AM   #9
fishtayl
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Convectair Apero


I appreciate all your input. It helps me tremendously!
Have a good one.

Lara.

Advertisement

fishtayl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts