Control 4 Switches - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2008, 08:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

control 4 switches


this question is for anybody who knows anything about control 4 switches. i am trying to install some control 4 dimmers on a 3-way/4-way system. i know that on just a regular 3-way you need a dimmer on one end and and a 2 button control on the other end of the 3-way. i was wondering if anybody knows what i need to put in the 4-way location. do i need another 2 button control or something else? i tried a search for some wiring diagrams but cant seem to find any. if you know where i can find some that would be awesome. thanks.
-gooch

Advertisement

gooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 08:32 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

control 4 switches


With a standard setup you will only be able to dimm/undimm from one location. Use a 3 way switch at one end, a 3 way dimmer at the other end, and four way switches at every other location.

How you run the cables will be important. The easiest is to feed one end, travel through each switch box, and send the load to the light at the other end.

Advertisement

__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 08:42 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

control 4 switches


thanks for your advice but i understand on how to wire a 3-way and how to put dimmers on them. these control 4 dimmers that i am talking about are fancy dimmers from a series of things that are essentially wireless remotes that can control all sorts of things like lights, speakers, climate control, etc. and you can program them from a controller to do all sorts of things. its pretty cool you should check out the website at control4.com. i was hoping i could find someone on this forum who has dealt with them before. sorry about the misunderstanding.
-gooch
gooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 09:05 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

control 4 switches


OHH now I get it.

You have an X-10 type control.

There should be a reciever. It gets installed at the light. Supply constant 110 volts, neutral, and switched leg, to it. For the rest of the switches just supply them with 110 volts. They are transmitters.

Set the codes up to match and you are done.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 switches 1 light. need 2 lights 2 switches. Im desprete s richards Electrical 6 07-19-2008 04:18 PM
3-way Ceiling Fan Dimmer? 47_47 Electrical 13 09-25-2007 10:31 AM
uniformity of light/power switches through house joeyboy Electrical 3 09-12-2007 10:24 AM
lighting automation christy123 Electrical 10 03-07-2007 05:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts