Contractor Messing Up????? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2007, 08:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

contractor messing up?????


hey got a quick question.. I have a contractor renovating my house but i believe he is messing up on the wiring. I went to vo-tech school for electrical but that was ten years ago and i am not an electrician..

It looks to me as if he is feeding on one breaker, my recessed lights in kitchen, a kitchen light over table, my powder room which is one light/vent combo and one receptical, plus my over the stove microwave/exhaust hood, plus the refrigerator, then five other outlets..
That seems like a huge load for one 20 amp circuit.. I also thought the frig had to be on its own circuit?? i have a feeling if the microwave is running the frig kicks on and i turn on the light in the powder room i may be left in the dark!!!!! I believe this contractor needs an updated version of the NEC

Advertisement

brain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 08:24 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 250
Default

contractor messing up?????


Too much.
Microwave should be on its own circuit. (Not code required, but a good idea)
Bath recepticle required to be on a 20 amp circuit, and only other bath outlets can be with it, OR the circuit is dedicated to 1 bath only, in which case the light of that bath can be on with it.
Fridge can either be a 15 amp dedicated, or on with the 20 amp kitchen receps, IN NO CASE can it be on with lights.
Where exactly are the 5 other outlets?
WAY WAY too much for this circuit.

Advertisement

__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 08:25 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 250
Default

contractor messing up?????


Is this contractor doing the electrical himself? Is he licenced and insured to do so? If not, can he do so legally in your area?
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 08:27 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

contractor messing up?????


Hey john
thanks for the response. the other outlets will be between cabinets and counter tops.
brain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 08:31 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

contractor messing up?????


in my area the home owner can take out the permit and do the work himself.. In my case the contractor is supposed to be helping me with the layout and i am doing the work but i think i know more then he does
brain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 08:36 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 250
Default

contractor messing up?????


This is how I personally would do it-
(2) 20 amp circuits for countertop receps. I would put the fridge on one of them.
(1) 20 amp circuit for the micro.
(1) 20 amp circuit for the powder room recep.
(1) 15 amp circuit for lights.
If there are any receptacles that are not in the kitchen or dining room, I would put them with the light if only 1 or 2. If more, another circuit.

This may seem like overkill, but it isn't, really. Renovations take a number of new circuits to be code compliant.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 08:44 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

contractor messing up?????


should the dishwasher be on its own circuit or could it go with the receps. And what amperage should the breaker be for the stove its electric
brain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 08:46 PM   #8
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 250
Default

contractor messing up?????


Dishwasher - own circuit, 15 or 20, check the nameplate or instructions.
Electric range, 40 or 50 amp. 4 conductor cable. # 8 if 40, #6 for 50.(Copper conductors) (50 would be my choice)
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 09:01 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

contractor messing up?????


hey John i really appreciate your help with this.. Thank you

Advertisement

brain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts