Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-19-2013, 04:48 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Share |
Post

Contactor - Relay Wiring


Hi Everyone,

I am currently working on a project but I am stuck up at the point of wiring my relay and contactor wired. Any help on the same would be appreciated.

The scene out here is to wire my CHINT contactor and PLA relay.

Hope to get a speedy response.

SurajNair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 07:46 AM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,831
Default

Contactor - Relay Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by SurajNair View Post
Hi Everyone,

I am currently working on a project but I am stuck up at the point of wiring my relay and contactor wired. Any help on the same would be appreciated.

The scene out here is to wire my CHINT contactor and PLA relay.

Hope to get a speedy response.
Too much information.

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (04-19-2013)
Old 04-19-2013, 12:29 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

Contactor - Relay Wiring


A relay or contactor is just an electrically operated switch.

Two wires go to the part which makes the switch operate. Then the other connections are just like a regular switch would be wired.

Relay...

Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 12:24 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Contactor - Relay Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy_Bob View Post
A relay or contactor is just an electrically operated switch.

Two wires go to the part which makes the switch operate. Then the other connections are just like a regular switch would be wired.

Relay...


Hey Billy_Bob, Thanx for the reply. The scenario is to wire a piece of equipment which injects current say 200 or 500 or 1000A.

I want to operate the equipemnt with the help of ON and OFF push button which is to be wired to the contactor and a variac (dimmer) and a Current Transformer. And the relay is used for bringing the C, NC, NO contacts on the side panel of the equipment.

If you could help me in detail on the wiring now.
SurajNair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 06:35 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 551
Default

Contactor - Relay Wiring


why don't you post the schematics for the relay and contactor you bought and their part numbers. Also some description of the load you intend to power and the source branch circuit.


You see when you ask questions like this: .."I am currently working on a project but I am stuck up at the point of wiring my relay and contactor wired. Any help on the same would be appreciated."...

You get answers like this: ..."Connect wires of appropriate gauge and insulation type for application to the terminals in question and connect them to the destination point. Be sure to use UL sanctioned connection devices in compliance with the NEC of jurisdiction in your area."...
curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to curiousB For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (04-21-2013)
Old 04-21-2013, 11:46 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

Contactor - Relay Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by SurajNair View Post
...The scenario is to wire a piece of equipment which injects current say 200 or 500 or 1000A.

I want to operate the equipemnt with the help of ON and OFF push button which is to be wired to the contactor and a variac (dimmer) and a Current Transformer. And the relay is used for bringing the C, NC, NO contacts on the side panel of the equipment.
That is not something you should be asking on the internet!

High amperage connections are "special". Everything needs to be designed to handle/switch those loads. And even the wiring connections need to be installed to the equipment manufacturer's specifications. Not something you "just connect"!

You are best to hire an electrician. And if this is expensive equipment, better yet would be to hire an electrical engineer to design it and specify the various components, then have the electrician connect everything to specifications.

Can you tell us the brand and model number of the contactor you are going to use?

What size wire are you using for the high amperage wiring?

How are you going to connect that wire to the contactor switch contacts?

What will this turn on/off? (Type of equipment, manufacturer name, model number.)
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 12:00 PM   #7
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,069
Default

Contactor - Relay Wiring


Several factors to take into consideration....

What kind of high current load? AC/DC? Inductive or resistive? (motors or lights) If inductive, (as in motor), anything over about 100 HP should really have a soft start or VFD. Line starting a 500hp motor is not something the average person should do.

What voltage?

The actual control of the starter is easy...in fact, if your going to order one...have them put the Hand/Off/Auto controls on the bucket door.

Right now there is just not enough to go with.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 06:50 PM   #8
STAFF
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 7,211
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Contactor - Relay Wiring


Thread restored...
__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

Jim
BigJim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 07:11 PM   #9
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Contactor - Relay Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by SurajNair View Post
Hey Billy_Bob, Thanx for the reply. The scenario is to wire a piece of equipment which injects current say 200 or 500 or 1000A.

I want to operate the equipemnt with the help of ON and OFF push button which is to be wired to the contactor and a variac (dimmer) and a Current Transformer. And the relay is used for bringing the C, NC, NO contacts on the side panel of the equipment.

If you could help me in detail on the wiring now.
I will like to help ya but as other mention in here we will need more details as other ask this question.

Those high current devices generally something you do not want to fool around at all.

What ya try to do something with this set up? Test something ?

Also what voltage class you are refering to this.

Are you in North Americian side or European side? due there are some differnce on the regulations and other items it will be addressed.

Merci.
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with wiring issues on a newly purchased house ThatGuy Electrical 13 01-17-2012 10:51 AM
Attic wiring - ceiling lighting uses 14/2 cable without ground darlingm Electrical 3 11-29-2011 09:01 AM
Backyard wiring questions MikeInDetroit Electrical 1 11-02-2011 09:46 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 06:45 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.