Contactor Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2012, 10:52 PM   #1
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10

Contactor Question

I have a 240v50amp circuit (2h/g) and I want to control the line current to the outlet via a timer. Simple enough to do with a contactor and a 120v timer. The complicated part is that I actually want to control the line current to two different outlets and if I could design my own contactor, here is how I would describe it: 2 hots coming in on the line side, 4 hots on the load side (2 pairs of hots) and 2 timers where 1 timer determines when current flows through and the other determines which pair of hots on the load side is actually supplying electricity. Once the first timer goes off, one of the load pairs will always be supplying ... the second timer determines which one. I have no idea if this type of thing exists or a safe way to cobble some different pieces together to make it work. Any thoughts are appreciated.


heinzsj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 11:24 PM   #2
ddawg16's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 8,942
Rewards Points: 5,208
Blog Entries: 1

Contactor Question

What you want to do is easy....

2 Basic ways to do it....

1. Using to Time Delay Relays
2. Pico PLC controller...

Me being the PLC guy I am would go for the pico many cases, it's cheaper than 2 TDR's.

While I hate Automation Direct....I doubt you want to pay for Allen here is an example of what would work for you...


Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
heinzsj (12-12-2012)
Old 11-22-2012, 11:27 PM   #3
TTW's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250

Contactor Question

I'm thinking two contactors, with the contactors being alternately switched by the NO and NC contacts on timer # 2.
Timer # 1 feeds the common terminal on timer # 2.
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 05:12 PM   #4
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 3,372
Rewards Points: 3,704

Contactor Question

Use two timers with no & nc contacts, and four two pole contactors
the contactors are wired back to back
the first two contactors are controled by timer one,
one on n/o, the other on n/c.
this selects which feed is used.
outputs parrallelled and wired back to back with other two contactors
these other two are controled by timer 2
via n/o & n/c on timer.
This selects which load is feed.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 12:33 AM   #5
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10

Contactor Question

Thanks - this is exactly the type of thinking I was looking for! I took a look at the PLC bits and think I understand how it all comes together, but I'm having trouble understanding how the 75amp relay can handle a 4awg wire - it looks like a 12awg screw terminal. I said in the original post that it was a 50amp circuit (which it is) but will be upgrading the breaker and endpoint for 75-80amps. I thought maybe it was the picture, but the picture shows the appropriate model number etc. for the 75amp version. Am I missing something? Thanks again - this really is a very clean solution and at the cost of multiple contactors, most likely the cheapest way to go.
heinzsj is offline   Reply With Quote

automated switch , contactor , timer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Top of Page | View New Posts