Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-30-2007, 01:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

consumer unit


consumer unit .
hi guys i hope you can help ,im trying to finish a bedsit .1 room with a on suite shower .
the bedsit will have 6 double sockets (max)
3 ceiling lights .
1 electric shower .
1 storage heater .
can you tell me what size of consumer unit i would need .
olso everything will be on a slot meter .
thanks in advance .
panman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 07:20 PM   #2
retired
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Idaho
Posts: 108
Default

consumer unit


What country are you in?
dmaceld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 07:27 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Default

consumer unit


"consumer unit", "slot meter", and " double socket" are UK terms, I believe.

Unfortunately, I don't think any UK electricians are members here.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 07:41 PM   #4
retired
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Idaho
Posts: 108
Default

consumer unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnJ0906 View Post
"consumer unit", "slot meter", and " double socket" are UK terms, I believe.

Unfortunately, I don't think any UK electricians are members here.
I was thinking he might also be from Aussie land, NZ, Hong Kong, India, or any other place England has left its mark and they have internet!!
dmaceld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 04:44 AM   #5
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Default

consumer unit


Very true!

It's just that one of the electrical forums I participate on has UK guys, and they use these terms.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New A/C unit won't cool in hot temps wishiknewmore HVAC 39 06-28-2012 08:51 PM
Extending Distance between Meter and Consumer unit sturharv Electrical 1 08-09-2007 11:24 PM
can I swap a (3) 60watt unit into a spot where I have a (1) 60watt unit? joeyboy Electrical 11 07-29-2007 07:25 PM
Used Central Air Unit? shep28 HVAC 2 04-21-2007 07:59 PM
Need to expand existing concrete pad for A/C unit miketegra Building & Construction 2 07-03-2005 10:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.