Connecting A Second Light To A Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2009, 07:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Connecting a second light to a switch


I have a light fixture that operates correctly from the switch. All of the whites wires are connected together and all but one of the black wires are connected together. The first fixture is hooked up to the one black wire and the 4 white wires. I ran a wire from the first light to the second light. I just connected the black wire to the bundle of black wires and the white wire to the bundle of white wires. The first light still works correctly but the second light stays on all of the time. What am I doing wrong? Thanks for any help.

Advertisement

barttrab11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 08:10 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,360
Rewards Points: 3,514
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Connecting a second light to a switch


Hook the black wire from the new fixture to the single black not the black bundle.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 12:50 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Connecting a second light to a switch


Thanks.
barttrab11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 01:08 PM   #4
DIY Apprentice
 
tripflex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 110
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Connecting a second light to a switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by barttrab11 View Post
I have a light fixture that operates correctly from the switch. All of the whites wires are connected together and all but one of the black wires are connected together. The first fixture is hooked up to the one black wire and the 4 white wires. I ran a wire from the first light to the second light. I just connected the black wire to the bundle of black wires and the white wire to the bundle of white wires. The first light still works correctly but the second light stays on all of the time. What am I doing wrong? Thanks for any help.
Yeah you confused me there...so did you run a new wire to the switch? All you need is to run a wire from the first light to the new one. Connect the colors together.
__________________
"How else am i supposed to build my tool collection and owe home depot lots of money? That's why I DIY"
2,200 SQ ft 3/2 Lake house with in-ground pool: http://picasaweb.google.com/tripflex
Help us help you by posting pictures with your question!
tripflex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric , lighting


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motion Light tripping GFCI? Jonobp Electrical 5 09-07-2009 08:52 PM
Confused by switch w/indicator light install... WaldenL Electrical 7 08-29-2009 10:02 AM
Tracing light switch to an outlet allanet Electrical 13 04-03-2009 09:44 AM
no power going to the light switch baseballfan Electrical 18 09-08-2008 06:35 PM
Problem changing light switch grgryl Electrical 14 08-10-2008 02:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts