Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-25-2010, 09:18 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Connecting Romex


I am replacing my range hood and have discovered that the electrical cutouts on the old one seem to be on the opposite side of what is now standard. It was suggested to me in this thread that I should run the electrical wire up through the cabinet into a junction box and then run a new wire to the opposite side:

Range hood installation problem

I think this is what I'm going to do since it will make it easier to replace the range hood in the future should the new one ever need to be replaced.

Now my question...

I'm not sure what type of cable I have currently sticking out of the wall. It is a white cable with a white, black , and a ground wire inside. It is connected to a 15 amp circuit breaker in the box in the basement. I'm assuming the current cable is 12/2, but if it happens to be 14/2 and I connect 12/2 to it inside a junction box, will that be a problem?

Thanks.

Lucas718 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 09:23 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,927
Rewards Points: 2,648
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Connecting Romex


If it is on a 15 amp breaker then 14/2 is all that is required even if your existing is 12/2.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 09:35 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Connecting Romex


Thanks for the reply! I just took a flashlight and looked up into the hole in the wall and could make out a faint 14-2 on the cable, so it looks like I'm all set.
Lucas718 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 09:48 AM   #4
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Connecting Romex


There is nothing wrong with 12/2 on a 15-amp breaker (12 is bigger than 14). You can oversize wire, and you have to in some cases (long distance). Your breaker size is limited by the smallest wire on the circuit.

14 gauge - 15A max
12 gauge - 20A max

The only reason that I can think of NOT to put 12/2 on a 15A circuit is that it is misleading.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 10:37 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Connecting Romex


Since I'm essentially splicing 2 pieces of Romex together, do I connect the ground wire from each piece together like I would do with the whites & the blacks?
Lucas718 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 10:48 AM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,927
Rewards Points: 2,648
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Connecting Romex


Yes connect the gounds to each other and to the box if it is metal.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 06:11 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Connecting Romex


Thanks for your help! After I wired a junction box into the upper cabinet, I was able to successfully install the range hood. And the best part is... it works! The wife is visiting her sister for a few days and I'm so happy I can surprise her with this when she gets back.

I love this site! You guys rock!

Lucas718 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Identify age of old Romex - also funny ground Leah Frances Electrical 9 02-06-2012 12:07 AM
romex clamped against bx knockout in old box kbm774 Electrical 11 08-16-2010 01:53 PM
Better way of connecting cable loop to roller chain? deleyd General DIY Discussions 1 06-30-2009 10:52 PM
Connecting Romex at Panel Bocolo Electrical 14 02-21-2009 05:55 AM
Cost Difference Between Conduit & Romex Shawns4 Electrical 39 08-25-2008 05:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.