Connecting Pool Pump And Pool Sanitizer - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2008, 07:04 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

connecting pool pump and pool sanitizer


Hello.
I am connecting a pool pump and a pool sanitizing system. The sanitizng system states it must be synchronized with the pool pump. ( pump off sanitizer off etc) The wiring is 220v from a dbl pole 15amp gfci.

how would I connect both to operate as synchronized.
Thanks

Advertisement

Skippy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 07:12 AM   #2
Whatamess
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 423
Rewards Points: 250
Default

connecting pool pump and pool sanitizer


You would need to connect both to a master switch or timer. I have mine hooked to a timer so it works at early morning to keep the sun from killing the chlorine.

Advertisement

__________________
I may go home hungry, but not tired and hungry.
TazinCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 07:27 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

connecting pool pump and pool sanitizer


OMG sorry it is very early here..
That would make sense.
Thanks.

When running 220v to the motor no neutral correct.. 2 hots and a ground?

TY
Skippy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 12:51 PM   #4
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,632
Rewards Points: 1,058
Default

connecting pool pump and pool sanitizer


Synchronized in this case means that the sanitizer must be energized only when the pump is also energized. The reason being is that if the sanitizer is energized while no water is running through it, it'll burn up.

Simply connect it to the same wires that feed the pump motor. If the pump motor is 220, make sure that the sanitizer is also 220.

220 consists of 2 hots, and a ground. No neutral.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 12:56 PM   #5
Whatamess
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 423
Rewards Points: 250
Default

connecting pool pump and pool sanitizer


Are you talking about a chlorine generator or what? What brand? Some you have to reconfigure for 220 or 110. If it is 110 you have to have the neutral.
__________________
I may go home hungry, but not tired and hungry.
TazinCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 08:48 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

connecting pool pump and pool sanitizer


Yes a chlorine generator.. Duo Clear by Zodiac.. It is by default set to 220..
Thanks for all the help and clarification.. All is connected and running great. Inspection passed.

To all who responded and frequent here thanks. A great community and a huge service to all. I hope to help others on day like I was. I will visit frequently to pass on some of my knowledge when the opportunity arrives.

Thanks again and cheers

Bryan

Advertisement

Skippy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New pool pump trips breaker?! New home owner needs advice. KenR7A Electrical 22 01-05-2011 10:42 AM
Pool Pump & Light Wiring Nod Electrical 28 07-15-2008 05:49 PM
Pool Pump Wiring mpdive Electrical 17 06-15-2008 08:30 PM
pool pump BillyD Plumbing 4 05-12-2008 11:07 PM
swimming pool pump wire steel Electrical 5 04-06-2008 09:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts