Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2012, 02:10 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 375
Rewards Points: 264
Default

Connecting a panel box to a diesel generator


I want to connect a breaker box to a diesel generator at my cabin.

I haven't decided on a generator yet, and was hoping I could find a good set of instructions or maybe a youtube video, but don't seem to be having much luck.

Does anyone know where I could find instructions or a guide? Do I need a copper grounding rod?

tibberous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 02:25 AM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,129
Rewards Points: 2,228
Default

Connecting a panel box to a diesel generator


Does the cabin have utility power also ?

Or is the cabin remote and your wanting electrical for the cabin and the generator is the sole source of power?

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 12:37 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Connecting a panel box to a diesel generator


I hope this is not rude but I have the same question. My cabin is off grid with no other source of power and never will be. I have a Honda EU 3000 generator for my power source. I would like to run a 10/3 SOOW power cord from the 30 amp outlet on the generator hard wired to the Siemens main lug panel (G1624L1125CP). The yellow line is a #6 bare copper wire running back out of the panel and attaching to one of the pilings I've got my cabin sitting on.
Attached Thumbnails
Connecting a panel box to a diesel generator-b.jpg  

Last edited by AKHermit; 02-20-2012 at 12:18 AM.
AKHermit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 02:04 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 375
Rewards Points: 264
Default

Connecting a panel box to a diesel generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Does the cabin have utility power also ?

Or is the cabin remote and your wanting electrical for the cabin and the generator is the sole source of power?
Sole source.
tibberous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 02:18 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Connecting a panel box to a diesel generator


Yes sole source

Last edited by AKHermit; 02-20-2012 at 10:32 AM. Reason: delete
AKHermit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 06:06 PM   #6
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,626
Rewards Points: 1,046
Default

Connecting a panel box to a diesel generator


Since the gen is diesel, I'm assuming it's a bit larger than a simple pull-start one.

One thing to be aware of, a lot of these gens are 3. It's not a good idea to use two legs of a 3 gen to power a single phase panel. If the gen is 3, use a 3 panel and balance the loads.

Otherwise, just connect the gen to the panel like it's a service. The wire from the gen to the panel needs to be at least 115% of the current rating of the gen., and there needs to be a breaker somewhere to protect the wire.

A basic load calculation would give you an idea of what size of gen to get.
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 11:03 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Connecting a panel box to a diesel generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
Since the gen is diesel, I'm assuming it's a bit larger than a simple pull-start one.

One thing to be aware of, a lot of these gens are 3. It's not a good idea to use two legs of a 3 gen to power a single phase panel. If the gen is 3, use a 3 panel and balance the loads.

Otherwise, just connect the gen to the panel like it's a service. The wire from the gen to the panel needs to be at least 115% of the current rating of the gen., and there needs to be a breaker somewhere to protect the wire.

A basic load calculation would give you an idea of what size of gen to get.
Also let me also give you a head up with triphase generatours they will come in either Delta or Wye format so that can compound the issue if you want to run in single phase therefore there is other issue will come up is the single phase rating on triphase generatour unit they will NOT be the same as triphase more like about 70% of triphase rating so that is the other thing you have to watch out on that.

If you get a triphase generator I will seriously suggest that you get a electrician assit you on the connection as I mention above.

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobile Home Electrical Panel Replacement rrolleston Electrical 2 01-28-2012 06:27 PM
Connecting fused knob & tube to new breaker panel carlscomputers Electrical 14 12-31-2011 12:04 PM
B&S Generator with Connecticut Electric Xfer Switch Rick5150 Electrical 19 01-20-2011 11:14 PM
Generator back feed breaker in a homeline sub panel Ward Carson Electrical 2 01-19-2011 09:13 AM
Generator sizing to match existing Panel tdnichol Electrical 4 08-25-2009 07:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.