Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-16-2006, 08:58 PM   #1
They're all fixer-uppers
 
J187's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 991
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

connecting multiple neutrals toghether best way?


I have to add romex to a 3 gang box wich already has 5 neutral wires tied in. I need to tie the 6th neutral wire in, the other 5 are under one wire nut. Is it better to break up the bunch and tie in 3 and 3 and pigtail the groups of 3 together or just slam the 6th one in the same cluster?

J187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2006, 09:18 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

connecting multiple neutrals toghether best way?


Neither, at least don't slam it in.
Try to twist the new neutral as cleanly as possible to the others. Get you a big blue wire nut and twist away.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 07:30 AM   #3
They're all fixer-uppers
 
J187's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 991
Rewards Points: 0
Default

connecting multiple neutrals toghether best way?


HAHA, slam was a relative term. I'll group it in. The problem was, most of the existing wires in there aren't stripped nearly enough to make a good connection in such a large grouping, but also the electrician/homeowner seems to have thought that the code for wire length in an electrical box was 6mm - so I can't really strip to much more back to make a better connection. I'll be sure its good though. thanks.
J187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 08:36 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Rewards Points: 0
Default

connecting multiple neutrals toghether best way?


you mean there is code staying length of expose wire inside the device box? I didn't know that... I thought as long as I don't expose bare part of the wire from the pigtails...etc that would be good enough... I cut some time quite long bare part of the wire some time quite short... as long as it make good connection....
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 09:35 AM   #5
They're all fixer-uppers
 
J187's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 991
Rewards Points: 0
Default

connecting multiple neutrals toghether best way?


I am fairly sure the code states that sheathing into a box must be a min of 1/4" and no more than one inch. Conductors must be at minimum 6" and able to extend at least 3" from the box. I don't remember an exact code on bare length, but Common practice is 3/4" for screw terminals and there's usually a wire stripping guide on the back of back-connecting switches and recepticles. However, with stripping, I think a common sense approach would be just simply make sure you strip enough for good contact without leaving uneccessarily exposed wires.

If there is one thing that makes me crazy it's finding 2" of wire inside a box. It's the most annoying, avoidable inconvienence ever.
J187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lack of neutrals in new building userabuser Electrical 2 10-21-2005 05:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.