Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-29-2012, 11:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Connecting LSM-15 as single way switch


I need to hook up a LSM-15 as a single way switch.

http://www.homeseer.com/pdfs/Evolve/LSM-15_SPEC.pdf

I tried hooking up the black and white with no luck.

It has Black, White, Blue, Yellow and Green.

The instructions are not clear on what the wiring should be for a single switch.

2bsure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 05:21 AM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,040
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Connecting LSM-15 as single way switch


Connect the incoming power to the black and white, connect the load to the blue.

If you only have a single black and white wire in the switch box, you have a switch loop (no neutral) and cannot use that switch.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:36 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Connecting LSM-15 as single way switch


The old switch had two wires connected that both are black. There are a bunch of other wires bundled up in the box as well.

So on new switch and can twist together the black/white onto the incoming hot wire and then tie the blue onto the load wire?
2bsure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:51 AM   #4
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,683
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Connecting LSM-15 as single way switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by 2bsure View Post
The old switch had two wires connected that both are black. There are a bunch of other wires bundled up in the box as well.

So on new switch and can twist together the black/white onto the incoming hot wire and then tie the blue onto the load wire?
No,... Ya need a different switch....
Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bondo For This Useful Post:
rjniles (12-30-2012)
Old 12-30-2012, 09:56 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 270
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Connecting LSM-15 as single way switch


Is this nm cable or conduit? Sounds like you are just replacing a single pole switch with the new one, which is okay, as long as you have a neutral in the switch box. If this is nm cable then it sounds like you do since you have two black wires on the switch. The neutral from the new switch gets wire nutted to the neutral wires. The power feed goes to the black wire and the load to the light (black) wire goes to the blue.
teamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 12:00 PM   #6
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,040
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Connecting LSM-15 as single way switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by 2bsure View Post
The old switch had two wires connected that both are black. There are a bunch of other wires bundled up in the box as well.

So on new switch and can twist together the black/white onto the incoming hot wire and then tie the blue onto the load wire?
Is there a bundle of white wires in the back of the box? If so that is the neutral and connects to the new switch white. Of the 2 blacks connected to the switch, you need to determine which is the hot feed and connect to the black of the switch. The other black will be the load and connects to the blue. You need a multimeter to test for the hot lead.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double switch and single switch in same box? Mallard1123 Electrical 2 09-19-2012 11:06 AM
Help with single pole switch that has me baffled NABRIL Electrical 19 03-12-2012 05:37 AM
Powering a new single pole switch off of an existing three way switch set? jamesm067 Electrical 3 01-17-2012 07:36 AM
Single Pole Light Switch with 4 Wires dmwiecz Electrical 6 11-22-2010 06:41 PM
Three way switch to single? idscnyco Electrical 5 10-04-2010 01:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.