Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-25-2007, 03:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

connecting hot tub in UK


Hi i am in UK and have a hot tub control panel which is made in US.I want to wire it to our 240v mains but our system only has 3 wires earth neutral and live where as your system has earth ,neutral live1 and live2 not sure of the difference and how it would be connected ,anyone got any ideas?

resusrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2007, 05:12 PM   #2
Electrical Technician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: U.K
Posts: 9
Default

connecting hot tub in UK


Hi bud,to connect your hot tub up connect your earth and neutral to the respective terminals.

Link L1 and L2 together with your incoming live,make sure your cable feeding it is rated for the appliances current rating.

You need to run it through an RCD (gfci) for safety.

Regards

Chris

chrisb271 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2007, 06:23 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 36
Default

connecting hot tub in UK


Was it built for the US or UK market? If built for the US market, it may have 120 volt components in the control panel so if connected to a UK 240V line it would damage them, best advice is to use a spa/hot tub made for the UK and proper approvals from a recognized testing agency plus have the electrical installed by a qualified electrician. Spas are cheap,lives are not.
Norcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 06:45 AM   #4
Electrical Technician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: U.K
Posts: 9
Default

connecting hot tub in UK


Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcal View Post
Was it built for the US or UK market? If built for the US market, it may have 120 volt components in the control panel so if connected to a UK 240V line it would damage them, best advice is to use a spa/hot tub made for the UK and proper approvals from a recognized testing agency plus have the electrical installed by a qualified electrician. Spas are cheap,lives are not.

Good advise BUT if you read the post the hot tub is already at his house only a complete knob would buy something like a hot tub that was configured for US market !
chrisb271 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 06:56 AM   #5
Electrical Technician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: U.K
Posts: 9
Default

connecting hot tub in UK


Get a local electrician to give you a estimate bud,he'll tell you if its possible to connect it to our mains.

An estimate should cost you nothing and you are under no obligation to have the work done.
chrisb271 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 12:11 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Default

connecting hot tub in UK


Hi guys thanks for your help.The controller is one that will run either 110v or 220v and is from US ,it is a replacement controller for my hot tub which was made in US but company went bust so could not get a direct replacement but the old panel only needed a live in l1 this is why i am confused.
resusrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 10:56 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 36
Default

connecting hot tub in UK


110 and 220 volts are not US voltages they are relics of the first half of the last century. Only way I can see for it to work is w/ a transformer having a 240X480 V primary and a 120/240 secondary and use it to transform 240 VAC to 120/240V, due to size,cost, and shipping, and other issues, it would be better to send it off to a landfill,IMO.

Norcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting PVC to Galv Pipe fitting for Drain froddan Plumbing 19 02-28-2010 03:33 PM
Connecting my PC to a 7.1 A/V receiver jlenigk17 Home Theater 9 09-23-2007 02:34 PM
connecting multiple neutrals toghether best way? J187 Electrical 4 08-17-2006 09:35 AM
Connecting a 240 Circuit Rze Electrical 3 08-09-2006 05:56 PM
Connecting gutters to storm drain Bullfrog Landscaping & Lawn Care 2 08-01-2006 08:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.