Connecting Fused Knob & Tube To New Breaker Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-30-2011, 03:22 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Connecting fused knob & tube to new breaker panel

Greetings All!
My name is Carl & I'm new to DIY board.
I have read all the "dangerous, for info purposes" warnings & will not hold anybody liable for helping me! Ha! Ha! All that being said, I have what should be a simple question, how do I correctly hook up some old fused circuits to my new service panel? I'm renovating my childhood home, which is a two family flat. The lower flat was no problem as there was an updated fuse panel box which I simply transferred circuits/wires. The upper flat has two fuse blocks which I have attached pics of & identified the wires based on test meter.
Can't find anybody at local electrical supply to help? They always say there's some old guy, but I haven't been able to catch him yet?
Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!
Attached Thumbnails
Connecting fused knob & tube to new breaker panel-fuse-panel-1a.jpg   Connecting fused knob & tube to new breaker panel-fuse-panel-2a.jpg  

Advertisement

carlscomputers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 04:12 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified

Rewards Points: 2,310

Start with some junction boxes.
Terminate the old stuff onto some nice new romex in those boxes.
Run the romex from there to the new panel.

hth

Advertisement

TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 04:34 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 1,022

If a "two family flat", will there be renters?