Connecting A 240 Circuit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2006, 03:06 PM   #1
Rze
Average Joe
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 54
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Connecting a 240 Circuit


I am reading that you should not connect both hot wires of a 240 circuit to the same leg of power. This is so the nuetral doesn't overheat. Is this correct?
I assume that if your panel has alternating lugs (wrong term, however I mean every other breaker on one side alternates A and B phase), then a 2 pol breaker would work. If not, the you need a single pole on each side. The second sounds more dangerous since someone might shut off one breaker but not the other.

Advertisement

Rze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 03:53 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Connecting a 240 Circuit


I guess in theory you are right. Except that 240v does NOT use or require a neutral. There is literally no place to terminate it. So there is NO neutral to overheat.
If you connect both legs of a 240v circuit to the same phase you will get nothing across them, but 120v to ground across each...if that makes sense.

Now.... if you are referring to a 120/240v or multi-wire (shared neutral) circuit then that is a different story. A story more like you explained.

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 06:15 PM   #3
Rze
Average Joe
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 54
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Connecting a 240 Circuit


MY bad. I meant ground, not nuetral. Not really sure about your statement that " If you connect both legs of a 240v circuit to the same phase you will get nothing across them, but 120v to ground across each...if that makes sense"

It sounds like this supports the answer to me question and that both hots should be on different phases. Still not really sure why, though.....
Rze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 06:56 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Connecting a 240 Circuit


The only time the ground carries current is under a fault, so it will never get hot if it is connected properly. It is there as a saefty net.

What I mean about the voltage is if both hots are on the same phase they will both have 120v on them (to ground). But between them is nothing. It would be as if you touched the tester leads on the same buss bar. They would not read anything.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 04:34 PM
Circuit configuration??? Clutchcargo Electrical 11 05-30-2007 09:01 AM
Conflicting Circuit Info!?? BenBil Electrical 9 01-15-2007 09:26 AM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 09:09 PM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 11:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts