Connecting 220 To Hot Tub... - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2009, 05:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Connecting 220 to Hot Tub...


Breaker keeps tripping. Everything is wired per wiring diagram as far as I can tell. This was done by an electrician and even he could not figure out why the breaker trips. I am a novice but the panel box in my garage has a 40 amp breaker. The GCFI at the tub is 50 amp. Would this cause the breaker to trip?

Advertisement

gmcf2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 06:05 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Bay, Onterrible
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Connecting 220 to Hot Tub...


What is the tub rated for? Our tub is about 47A so if you had a 40A breaker in the circuit it would trip it. Remember when you first turn on the tub with cold water in it it will want to run ALL the pumps and the heater to get things crackalackin.

Is this a brand new tub & circuit and this is the first time trying it? Is the breaker in the panel one opposite phases? I am pretty surprised that your sparky can't figure this out, is this guy licensed?

Advertisement

Salem747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 09:20 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Connecting 220 to Hot Tub...


Did you check the netural and ground connection at the hot tub breaker box ? normally on hot tub panel you should have netural and ground seperated the only time you will see together is the main discconection location aka main load centre not the subpanels.

And make sure there is no bonding screw or jumper on the hottub panel that first thing it will kick the GFCI out real quick

If your electrician can not find the cupit the simple way is ohm read the hot tub connection on netural and ground it should be not on together if that the case it will trip if read open conuity then read either hot conductor to ground that should read open check out both and that read open you will have to look very closely to the motours and heater both are likey cuprit.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 09:49 PM   #4
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

Connecting 220 to Hot Tub...


Make sure you have the breaker hooked up correct the neutral from the hot tub hooks to the breaker and the white pigtail wire that is attached tocted the breaker to the nuetral bar you do have 4 wire right ? make sure they are seperated this is a 20 amp but same hookup
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 07:24 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

Connecting 220 to Hot Tub...


New or used?
Might be time to get a real electrician out to check it out.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 02:50 PM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,204
Rewards Points: 2,378
Default

Connecting 220 to Hot Tub...


Quote:
Originally Posted by gmcf2004 View Post
Breaker keeps tripping. Everything is wired per wiring diagram as far as I can tell. This was done by an electrician and even he could not figure out why the breaker trips. I am a novice but the panel box in my garage has a 40 amp breaker. The GCFI at the tub is 50 amp. Would this cause the breaker to trip?
Would only be the cause if the tub requires a 50 amp branch circuit in which case the is the possibility the 40 is too small.. But you don't give enough details....it's all in the details.... Like these

Which breaker is tripping? The 50 gfci or the 40 in the house main panel.

Is the breaker tripping instantly as soon as the spa starts or calls for heat or motors start.

Is the tub 3 wire 220 or 4 wire 120/240?

Does the tub require a 50 amp branch circuit ?


As JBfan said new or old hot tub?

Edit: as JBfan is saying a 'real electrician' should be able to determine if the electrical supply is correct and connections are correct or any faults exist with the wiring or devices. If the tub is at fault he should also be able to determine that...maybe not exactly what is at fault with the tub but he should be able to tell you if it is the tub or not... at the least.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 11-12-2009 at 04:29 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 06:45 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

Connecting 220 to Hot Tub...


Hey Stubbie. Fish not biting?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 11:41 PM   #8
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,204
Rewards Points: 2,378
Default

Connecting 220 to Hot Tub...


Actually they are but weather has been windy...We are getting into the winter pattern in a few weeks and I'll be mostly fishing for crappie. I will post a few pictures when I finally get around to it....

Hey...I caught a striper.... only yours would have ate mine for lunch....

Dropped in today to see what you guys are up to....

Advertisement

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any issues with connecting gutters form one side of house to other creamaster Roofing/Siding 1 11-02-2009 09:57 PM
Better way of connecting cable loop to roller chain? deleyd General DIY Discussions 1 06-30-2009 11:52 PM
Req: Help connecting circuit breaker and running wires RickDel Electrical 5 05-26-2009 07:38 PM
Connecting air cleaner to return air elbow jdelisle HVAC 1 07-10-2008 06:44 AM
connecting ballcock supply line? Yeti Plumbing 3 10-23-2007 01:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts