Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-31-2011, 01:48 PM   #16
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,988
Share |
Default

Is this connected correctly?


jpearson311, they are good to see if you have a live line or not, but not any good for testing a circuit. I use one of these http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053 when checking leads for live voltage. First step is to visually walk through the line, from where it leaves the breaker box, to the first junction point. Then on from there. I would not doubt, that the original homeowner did something that killed power out there, such as used a switch to kill power (my garage was wired with a switch leg, that if you did not know that the lone switch at the top of our basement stairs was for it, you would have beat your head trying to figure out, why there was not any power out there).

Once you are done visually inspecting the whole circuit from breaker to first junction, check for power at the first junction point, then so on. The best thing to do, to eliminate culprit devices such as switches or outlets, is to check those points, or replace with a gfci at the outlet. Old wiring, once someone starts messing with it, is notorious to cause further problems, that is why I suggested to replace with good newer wiring.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 01:59 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 326
Default

Is this connected correctly?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
jpearson311, they are good to see if you have a live line or not, but not any good for testing a circuit. I use one of these http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053 when checking leads for live voltage. First step is to visually walk through the line, from where it leaves the breaker box, to the first junction point. Then on from there. I would not doubt, that the original homeowner did something that killed power out there, such as used a switch to kill power (my garage was wired with a switch leg, that if you did not know that the lone switch at the top of our basement stairs was for it, you would have beat your head trying to figure out, why there was not any power out there).

Once you are done visually inspecting the whole circuit from breaker to first junction, check for power at the first junction point, then so on. The best thing to do, to eliminate culprit devices such as switches or outlets, is to check those points, or replace with a gfci at the outlet. Old wiring, once someone starts messing with it, is notorious to cause further problems, that is why I suggested to replace with good newer wiring.
Ok. I took the cover off of my breaker box last night and tried to following the garage circuit/fuse, but it was hard to tell. There were many wires in there. One thing I did notice is that the wiring in the garage has the old metal corrugated conduit around it (in the photos) and there are 2 runs of wire in my basement that have the same thing. One appears to go directly through the floor above the box. Right above this spot is the kitchen, upstairs. And in the kitchen around this general area on the wall, there is a switch. I've never known what this switch is for and very well may be the 3 way for the garage. I was messing with it last night, but found nothing.

The other metal conduit runs down my basement ceiling and then runs out the back. This looks like it may be running through my backyard and into the garage. They both hit a couple of boxes, but how do I check if it is live at the junction boxes? I'm not sure which wire to test. Also, will the detector I just bought detect a circuit/voltage through metal conduit? Thanks!

Jesse
jpearson311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 04:12 PM   #18
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,988
Default

Is this connected correctly?


Use the detector that you have by touching the wires in side the box. It will pick up the inductance off of the bx, with power running through, since it senses the magnetic field caused by the electron flow in the wiring. I would not doubt that the wire in the Kitchen is a part of the circuit. If you can figure out aprox. where the wire enters from the basement, then you have an idea where the wire enters the structure.

You may need another body to help with the circuit tracing.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 10:11 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 326
Default

Is this connected correctly?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Use the detector that you have by touching the wires in side the box. It will pick up the inductance off of the bx, with power running through, since it senses the magnetic field caused by the electron flow in the wiring. I would not doubt that the wire in the Kitchen is a part of the circuit. If you can figure out aprox. where the wire enters from the basement, then you have an idea where the wire enters the structure.

You may need another body to help with the circuit tracing.
Well, I tested the wires at the light switch in the garage and no go. I also tested the armor coated wiring going out the back from the basement, that I thought was the garage line last night, and it gave me a reading. I then cut the garage switch inside the panel, tested the armor coated wiring again, and it still gave me a reading. I guess that's not the garage, but rather the sunroom.

I followed the garage circuit in the panel and created the attached photos. I think I have officially discovered that the light switch upstairs is in fact, the 3 way switch. However, the lines going to the switch are not hot and there is a line coming from the switch to the plug receptacle (spliced?). This line is not hot, but the 2 other lines on the plug are. What do you think?

Jesse

PS. I could only attach 6 photos so see below for #7
Attached Thumbnails
Is this connected correctly?-garage_panel_circuit-001.jpg   Is this connected correctly?-garage_panel_circuit-002.jpg   Is this connected correctly?-garage_panel_circuit-003.jpg   Is this connected correctly?-garage_panel_circuit-004.jpg   Is this connected correctly?-garage_panel_circuit-005.jpg  

Is this connected correctly?-garage_panel_circuit-006.jpg  
jpearson311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 10:12 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 326
Default

Is this connected correctly?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Use the detector that you have by touching the wires in side the box. It will pick up the inductance off of the bx, with power running through, since it senses the magnetic field caused by the electron flow in the wiring. I would not doubt that the wire in the Kitchen is a part of the circuit. If you can figure out aprox. where the wire enters from the basement, then you have an idea where the wire enters the structure.

You may need another body to help with the circuit tracing.
Photo #7.
Attached Thumbnails
Is this connected correctly?-garage_panel_circuit-007.jpg  

jpearson311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outlets connected to light switch wcpatton Electrical 11 04-27-2011 07:45 PM
Roof Leak - Asphalt Tiles Don't Overlap Correctly KennyS Roofing/Siding 6 09-23-2009 08:30 AM
Wire sizes based on actual connected load BigJimmy Electrical 7 08-21-2007 08:30 PM
Adding a chair rail to dining room which is connected to kitchen Bacardi 151 Interior Decorating 7 07-05-2007 03:31 AM
Wiring of my two-zone system not working correctly AMontemagni HVAC 3 01-27-2007 12:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.