Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-30-2011, 06:59 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 303
Share |
Default

Is this connected correctly?


I currently do not have power in my garage although it was wired at one time. Can anyone tell if this is connected correctly (see photo)? The line on the left is coming from the garage floor (line in) and the line on the right goes up the wall to a motion light. Then there is a line coming from the motion light running up the ceiling to a box at the crown of the roof. It then splits off 3 ways from the box. One to each wall, which go to light sockets, and the third breaks off to the other side of the garage for another motion light.

What do you guys recommend? I currently do not have a tester, but the fuse is on, on the garage circuit at the panel in my basement. Thanks!

Jesse
Attached Thumbnails
Is this connected correctly?-garage_light_switch.jpg  
jpearson311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 07:11 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,679
Default

Is this connected correctly?


You are kidding, right?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (10-30-2011)
Old 10-30-2011, 07:16 PM   #3
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Is this connected correctly?


Can’t tell much of anything with that picture, the switch is in the way. The only thing I can tell is that there isn’t a connector on the right hand cable where it enters the box.

What are we supposed to recommend?
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 07:21 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,908
Default

Is this connected correctly?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jpearson311 View Post
I currently do not have power in my garage although it was wired at one time. Can anyone tell if this is connected correctly (see photo)? The line on the left is coming from the garage floor (line in) and the line on the right goes up the wall to a motion light. Then there is a line coming from the motion light running up the ceiling to a box at the crown of the roof. It then splits off 3 ways from the box. One to each wall, which go to light sockets, and the third breaks off to the other side of the garage for another motion light.

What do you guys recommend? I currently do not have a tester, but the fuse is on, on the garage circuit at the panel in my basement. Thanks!

Jesse
For all we know, that is the mystical History Eraser Switch.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 07:25 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 303
Default

Is this connected correctly?


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
Can’t tell much of anything with that picture, the switch is in the way. The only thing I can tell is that there isn’t a connector on the right hand cable where it enters the box.

What are we supposed to recommend?
Look at these pictures. Does it look like it's connected correctly?

Jesse
Attached Thumbnails
Is this connected correctly?-garage_light_switch-001.jpg   Is this connected correctly?-garage_light_switch-002.jpg   Is this connected correctly?-garage_light_switch-003.jpg  
jpearson311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 07:34 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,908
Default

Is this connected correctly?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jpearson311 View Post
Look at these pictures. Does it look like it's connected correctly?

Jesse
Nope, wait a minute. Nope, lost it in the fog on my crystal ball. Maybe if you flip it, it may work, it may not. Beware, due to it will transport you back in time.

I do love posts like these, because it passes time on a slow Sunday Evening. jpearson311, when you get around to finding out where the other end of that goes, so you can find out, that it will be cheaper to rip out that 1930's/1940's era wiring and update with newer and safer wiring, we will all be here to hear your plans, and hopefully you will show us all proper wiring diagrams of what you want to do, vs. pictures of lets find Waldo.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 07:38 PM   #7
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Is this connected correctly?


It appears to be a 3-way switch, and from what you said about the right hand cable, the right hand cable is the load side, so the left hand cable probably goes to another 3-way switch somewhere, and that’s where the power source cable should enter the circuit. You’ll want to find the other 3-way switch.

Greg’s suggestion of upgrading the wiring is a good idea too.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 09:22 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 303
Default

Is this connected correctly?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Nope, wait a minute. Nope, lost it in the fog on my crystal ball. Maybe if you flip it, it may work, it may not. Beware, due to it will transport you back in time.

I do love posts like these, because it passes time on a slow Sunday Evening. jpearson311, when you get around to finding out where the other end of that goes, so you can find out, that it will be cheaper to rip out that 1930's/1940's era wiring and update with newer and safer wiring, we will all be here to hear your plans, and hopefully you will show us all proper wiring diagrams of what you want to do, vs. pictures of lets find Waldo.
I want the power to turn on in my garage. That's all.
jpearson311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 09:50 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

Is this connected correctly?


Is the motion light working?
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 10:22 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 303
Default

Is this connected correctly?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy_Bob View Post
Is the motion light working?
I just looked at the motion light and well, it's not a motion light, but rather just a two bulbed light. However, when I got up on my ladder, I noticed that there was a broken bulb end inside one of the receptacles (there are 2). I started unscrewing the broken bulb end and it sparked. Does this mean that it's hot? I put a bulb in there, but nothing happened.

Jesse
jpearson311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 10:25 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

Is this connected correctly?


Making progress!

Go check your circuit breaker for that. Turn it off, then back on and see if that light now works. See if the switch makes the light go on/off.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 10:34 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 303
Default

Is this connected correctly?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy_Bob View Post
Making progress!

Go check your circuit breaker for that. Turn it off, then back on and see if that light now works. See if the switch makes the light go on/off.
I checked the garage circuit on the breaker box and it was on. I turned it off and then back on again, went and tested the light again, but no go. I'm stumped. I guess I could post a video of my entire garage wiring starting from the inlet. It's not really that complicated.

Jesse
jpearson311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 10:57 PM   #13
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Is this connected correctly?


This is when a meter comes in handy to test the voltage at various points of the circuit. You can pick up one for $20 or less.

The problem could be a few different things…bad wire connection someplace, bad bulbs, bad light fixture(s), etc. You said it sparked when you changed the bulb, so I’d say there should be power at the fixture, but the neutral might have a bad connection, for example.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 12:35 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

Is this connected correctly?


I would put two known working bulbs in that light fixture (try the bulbs somewhere else to be sure they work, then put them into that light fixture).

Next check *all* the breakers in that panel. Sometimes things are mislabeled. If a breaker is tripped, it might still look on. It would be just a little to the off direction.

Then try flipping that wall switch after you do that. See if one or both of those lights will come on.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 01:36 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 303
Default

Is this connected correctly?


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
This is when a meter comes in handy to test the voltage at various points of the circuit. You can pick up one for $20 or less.

The problem could be a few different things…bad wire connection someplace, bad bulbs, bad light fixture(s), etc. You said it sparked when you changed the bulb, so I’d say there should be power at the fixture, but the neutral might have a bad connection, for example.
I bought this on my lunch break today and I will be testing it when I get home tonight. Hopefully there is a connection.

Jesse
jpearson311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outlets connected to light switch wcpatton Electrical 11 04-27-2011 07:45 PM
Roof Leak - Asphalt Tiles Don't Overlap Correctly KennyS Roofing/Siding 6 09-23-2009 08:30 AM
Wire sizes based on actual connected load BigJimmy Electrical 7 08-21-2007 08:30 PM
Adding a chair rail to dining room which is connected to kitchen Bacardi 151 Interior Decorating 7 07-05-2007 03:31 AM
Wiring of my two-zone system not working correctly AMontemagni HVAC 3 01-27-2007 12:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.