Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-04-2012, 01:07 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Posts: 103
Share |
Default

Connect old 2-wire light to new 3-wire receptacle?


All:

I am updating the electric in my kitchen, and subsequently a bedroom above my kitchen. I have easy access to the receptacles in the bedroom, and I plan on rewiring them with new grounded 12/2. However, the bedroom overhead light is fed from one receptacle with old 2-wire.

Is it ok by code to rewire the receptacles, but keep the old 2-wire going to the light (using a pigtail from the feeder to a receptacle)? I cannot replace the light's wiring without substantial tear-out of a nicely finished space.

Thanks.

patented is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 04:10 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Posts: 103
Default

Connect old 2-wire light to new 3-wire receptacle?


Anyone?

patented is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 05:05 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,861
Default

Connect old 2-wire light to new 3-wire receptacle?


Technically a circuit may be upgraded a little at a time with some 2 wire (ungrounded) portions remaining in service.

Technically an older 2 wire portion may not be appended to a new circuit or a circuit different from where it came.

Note that any circuit with 14 gauge portions may have a breaker no larger than 15 amps.

Two 20 amp kitchen circuits serving the counter area may not have lighting subcircuits or other rooms' receptacles hung off of them.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 09-04-2012 at 05:09 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 05:11 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Posts: 103
Default

Connect old 2-wire light to new 3-wire receptacle?


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
Technically a circuit may be upgraded a little at a time with some 2 wire (ungrounded) portions remaining in service.

Technically an older 2 wire portion may not be appended to a new circuit or a circuit different from where it came.

Note that any circuit with 14 gauge portions may have a breaker no larger than 15 amps.
The old wire will be on the same circuit as it was before, but fed from new feeder wire. It seems to me like this should be ok.

Do you know the code section that refers to this? I cannot seem to find it.

Thanks.
patented is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 05:18 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Posts: 103
Default

Connect old 2-wire light to new 3-wire receptacle?


Allan: just to clear up some possible confusion, the bedroom circuit is totally separate from the kitchen circuits. Its just that I have access to the bedroom circuits now that my ceiling is all torn out.
patented is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
light receptacle vs. switch test device amakarevic Electrical 5 03-23-2012 05:15 PM
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 01:33 AM
Decommissioning old armored wire circuit toddmanqa Electrical 6 12-04-2009 08:55 AM
Please Help! 3 way switches controling 2 light fxtures. HelloMotto Electrical 50 09-01-2009 08:20 PM
New Dryer is 3 wire, receptacle is 4 Wire. thelimit Electrical 22 01-15-2009 09:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.