Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-17-2012, 05:59 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Connect a 14-2 to a 10-2


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Just use wire nuts, align the ends and install wirenut.
10-2 is so thick that it makes it hard to put a wire but on

Ncs0816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 06:11 PM   #17
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,128
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Connect a 14-2 to a 10-2


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ncs0816 View Post
10-2 is so thick that it makes it hard to put a wire but on
Then you are using the incorrect wire nut.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Canucker (10-17-2012), Dierte (10-17-2012), jbfan (10-18-2012)
Old 10-17-2012, 06:48 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Connect a 14-2 to a 10-2


Why is it 200 feet in if able bit only 100 feet away?
Ncs0816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 06:52 PM   #19
Common Sense Common Guy
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: So. IL near STL
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Connect a 14-2 to a 10-2


The entire circuit consists of the length of the hot conductor + the length of the neutral conductor for 120V.
flasherz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 06:56 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Connect a 14-2 to a 10-2


Quote:
Originally Posted by flasherz View Post
The entire circuit consists of the length of the hot conductor + the length of the neutral conductor for 120V.
So by code the length from the circuit to my existing outdoor outlet is 100 feet? How many watts do I have at my existing outdoor outlet if on a 15 amp breaker. Should the volts drop according to the previous post
Ncs0816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 12:15 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Western PA
Posts: 203
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Connect a 14-2 to a 10-2


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ncs0816 View Post
So by code the length from the circuit to my existing outdoor outlet is 100 feet? How many watts do I have at my existing outdoor outlet if on a 15 amp breaker. Should the volts drop according to the previous post
A physical distance of 100 feet results in a total circuit (wire) length of 200 feet, since the current has to flow 100 feet from the breaker to the outlet and 100 feet back. So whatever voltage drop occurs will happen twice... once on the way to the outlet and then again on the way back.

How much the voltage drops is determined by A) the amount of current flowing and B) the resistance of the wire. [Ohm's Law: V = I * R]

If nothing is plugged into the outlet, no current flows, and there will be no voltage drop. The voltage measured at the outlet should be the same as the voltage coming off the circuit breaker. This is sometimes called the "open-circuit voltage."

Connect a load and current will flow. Because of the voltage drop in the conductors, the full 120V at the breaker will be reduced somewhat. Per the calculations in the earlier post, if the load is drawing 15 Amps (18 100W bulbs, for example), the voltage at the outlet will drop to 112.5V if you use #14 conductors, but only drop to 117V if you use #10 conductors.

If less current is drawn by the load, there will be less voltage loss in the conductors, and more voltage available at the outlet. The breaker rating has nothing to do with this; it just sets an upper limit on the amount of current that can pass through the circuit.

Dave632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to wire a 30A 250v plug and connect it to a well pump control box diyorgobroke Electrical 3 05-21-2012 04:08 PM
Apartment- Connect portable washer straight to sink drain + double quick connect? DrDreams Plumbing 1 03-14-2012 08:30 AM
What pipe is this? can I connect abs to it? oregondiy Plumbing 3 04-04-2011 07:33 AM
Basement toilet: Watergenie - how to connect to main stack GD73 Plumbing 1 12-21-2009 10:13 AM
Adding a phone line to an older connect point cramsmith General DIY Discussions 3 11-23-2005 11:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.