Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-03-2011, 01:03 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Confusion with three way plugs / switches


There is a lot of confusion on the 'net with this topic..glad I found this forum.

I have two - 3 way switches on either side of my garage. To hook up a radio, I need to run a long extention cord...i hate doing that.

If I understand what everyone has been saying...the red wire is the flippy/floppy wire that allows 3 ways to work but the black/white wire stays the same.

Would it work if I pull out the wires out of the far switch..put them into a connection box...use all three colours to run to a new light stitch in a new box and feed just the black/white to a new two outlet unit. Not sure what I would ue for ground ...

Thanks,
ian.

grassy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 01:32 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,860
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Confusion with three way plugs / switches


Depends on the # of wires and colors in the switch box.
Take the switch out and tell what wires are there.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 02:44 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,866
Rewards Points: 2,526
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Confusion with three way plugs / switches


If you only have three wires in the switch box then you CAN NOT install a receptacle. There is no neutral wire in the box.
Your assumptions about the wire colours are not correct. Any of the colours could be used for any part of the circuit.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about wiring and voltage with switches and lights rswurth Electrical 17 06-20-2010 11:12 PM
Question about switches on a 20 amp circuit Abs777 Electrical 6 04-28-2010 10:09 AM
switches and plugs on same circuit-- how? cabinjunkie Electrical 18 08-08-2009 02:53 PM
Replacing switches turning into nightmare. RyanD Electrical 19 05-26-2009 06:19 PM
Need help replacing switches in four-way circuit magnolia Electrical 3 05-09-2008 09:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.