Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-17-2012, 05:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

Confusing outlet issue


I bought a house not to long ago built in 71. For the past couple years I've been living here my refrigerator and microwave have shared the same outlet. Busy with so many things I never checked on what outlets were controlled by what breakers. The other day the refrigerator was doing a defrost cycle (I think) and I turned the microwave on. The power to both refrigerator and microwave went out immediately so I checked the breaker and it was still on.

So the outlet was still hot but no power to appliances. I changed the outlet. It had a 15amp outlet so thats what I replaced it with even though my breaker is 20amp. So as soon as I plugged that microwave in that outlet went again. So I tried it in another outlet and it went. So the microwave is junk I'm assuming.

Now whats got me puzzled is I put in a new 20amp outlet and I'm only going to plug my refrigerator into it. Right 20 amp outlet and 20amp breaker for my fridge? The outlet is hot but its not powering my fridge. Anybody have any clue whats happening here?

Penguinfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 06:27 PM   #2
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 698
Default

Confusing outlet issue


if you're using a 'beep' or non contact tester, i'd assume you lost the neutral to the outlet. try a '3 light' tester or a standard multimeter

Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 06:37 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,788
Default

Confusing outlet issue


Unless the wire going to the outlet is 12-2 with ground the breaker should not be 20 amp.
If it's an older house it's possible someone just installed a higher amperage breaker, thinking it would stop the tripping. What it can do if the wires where not changed is cause the insulation on the wires to melt from over heating and still not have the breaker trip until it's to late.
Should not have mattered if the outlet was only a 15 amp. outlet if there's 110 volts coming out of the outlet the fridge should stilll work.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 06:44 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

Confusing outlet issue


Sounds like a bad connection on another outlet "upstream" from the one you keep replacing.

Houses that were built in 1971 rarely had dedicated circuits for the fridge.

Check all the other outlets in your kitchen for good solid connections.

PS: Do you by chance have aluminum wiring there??
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 10:16 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 10
Default

Confusing outlet issue


Thanks for the replies!

I"m understanding what you mean about 20 amp breakers and not necessarily having the right size wiring. The wiring comes out of the top of the box but I can't see any marking on the insulation. What I've found is that I have 3 20 amp breakers in my box.

-1st one goes to my fridge and an outlet on the other side of the wall. Kind of weird it goes to that other outlet right?
-2nd one goes to the 2 outlets above my kitchen counter. One of which I think has lost its neutral due to me plugging my faulty microwave into (wasn't sure it was faulty at the time).
-3rd one I'm still checking.

So perhaps my counter outlet is the culprit and caused my outlet on another circuit to lose is neutral? This worries me because why would they be sharing neutrals? I hate not knowing.

p.s. So far I haven't found any aluminum wiring.

Last edited by Penguinfan; 03-18-2012 at 10:19 AM.
Penguinfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 11:04 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Confusing outlet issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by Penguinfan View Post
This worries me because why would they be sharing neutrals? I hate not knowing.
Frequently done when wiring a MWBC (multi-wire branch circuit)
Attached Images
 

Last edited by hammerlane; 03-18-2012 at 11:06 AM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 10:23 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,366
Default

Confusing outlet issue


Have you tested the other outlets, that are on the same circuit
as the microwave ?
Do they test ok ?
Do they work ok ?
And what are you testing them with ?

dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outlet Issue picsaro Electrical 7 12-13-2009 04:04 PM
Wiring Issue: Problem solving skkrman7482 Electrical 3 04-04-2009 06:32 AM
loose outlet boxes on metal studs windowguy Electrical 7 01-29-2009 12:12 PM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 09:05 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.