Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-22-2008, 08:15 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

confused and scared


Need Help..
My Home Is About 40 Years Old. My Lights Have Been Flickering And My Stove Cuts Off And On At Will. They Or Not On The Same Circiut And The Breaker Is Not Tripping. I Had The Power Company Come Out And Check The Voltage And The Say That I Need To Replace My Meter Base. When I Locked In Meter Base I Noticed That The Ground Wire Had Been Acrhing With One Of The Lugs . Also That Lug Was A Little Loose . What Could Be The Actual Problem

jamiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 08:26 AM   #2
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Rewards Points: 500
Default

confused and scared


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiel View Post
...What Could Be The Actual Problem?
I'll guess...you haven't called your favorite electrician, yet?

RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 08:32 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

confused and scared


tried thaat but not so sure what to do.
jamiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 08:35 AM   #4
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Rewards Points: 500
Default

confused and scared


Get a phone book and let your fingers do the walk'n.
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 08:42 AM   #5
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

confused and scared


You're right to be worried. You definately need to involve an electrician with this one.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 09:25 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

confused and scared


is changing a meter box something that I could do my self and is $1200 what it would cost to get it done
jamiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 09:33 AM   #7
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

confused and scared


Could you? Yes. Should you? Probably not. You're talking about unfused service voltage there...You screw up, you're dead.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 11:01 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

confused and scared


You could, but you would need the utility to remove the meter, kill the power feeding the meter and then replace it when you are done. Lets see, when can they get back to reinstall the meter? How many days could you go without electricity.
Get someone who can come out and finish up in a couple hours or less.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 12:30 PM   #9
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,923
Rewards Points: 2,640
Blog Entries: 4
Default

confused and scared


The actual problem is the loose lug. Did the POCO not tighten it when they had it open?
$1200 will get a whole new 100 amp service and breaker panel where I live. It might get you a meter base in California.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 06:25 PM   #10
Cow
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 116
Rewards Points: 75
Default

confused and scared


Quote:
Originally Posted by thekctermite View Post
Could you? Yes. Should you? Probably not. You're talking about unfused service voltage there...You screw up, you're dead.
Do you always change meter bases hot?
Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 06:02 PM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

confused and scared


The POCO's in my area will not tighten lugs in a meter socket. If they strip a lug, they own the socket. I would have an electrician look at it and either clean and tighten the connections or replace it depending on what he sees. I have a feeling the POCO saw burned and corroded connections calling for a new socket or new guts in the told can.

Nobody replaces a meter base hot. Do they?
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 06:43 PM   #12
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,623
Rewards Points: 1,040
Default

confused and scared


Change a meter base hot? I work ALOT of stuff hot, from control voltage all the way up to linework. Plenty of hot work in 480 volt panels. NO WAY would I even consider changing a meter base hot. I didn't get to be 51 by doing stupid things. lol. Seriously, it's usually very easy to kill the feed to a meter base anyway, so why risk it?

Rob

micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.