Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-11-2013, 10:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Confused Novice


I'm hoping to receive some help/knowledge understanding my electrical system/setup. I have 3 panels. The one next to meter is 60 amp breaker panel. Another is an 100 amp fuse panel located inside the house. And finally, another 60 amp fuse panel in a detached garage. Below is a pic of the breaker panel and meter. Do I have 3 independent panels? Or just one main and 2 subs? I don't believe I can cut power to whole house with just one panel...
Attached Thumbnails
Confused Novice-photo.jpg  

JRP_24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 10:58 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,592
Rewards Points: 2,144
Default

Confused Novice


sounds like you might just have three panels.

Cant say for sure with out seeing the panels,
Can you attach pic's of the three panels ?
Are there any large breakers in the assumed main panel
that might feed the other panels ?

dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 11:03 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Huntsville, AL USA
Posts: 240
Rewards Points: 168
Default

Confused Novice


That looks odd, and I'm afraid it may not be to code. It looks like the meter socket may be double-tapped, and that the outside panel is powered independently of the inside fuse panels. That outside panel may also be undersized for the service. I'm hoping that one of the pros that hangs out here will chime in.
fa_f3_20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 12:38 AM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Confused Novice


I will chime in on this one.,,

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRP_24 View Post
I'm hoping to receive some help/knowledge understanding my electrical system/setup. I have 3 panels. The one next to meter is 60 amp breaker panel. Another is an 100 amp fuse panel located inside the house. And finally, another 60 amp fuse panel in a detached garage. Below is a pic of the breaker panel and meter. Do I have 3 independent panels? Or just one main and 2 subs? I don't believe I can cut power to whole house with just one panel...

The set up do you have electrique water heater ? if so that can be used with the TOU ( Time Of Use ) so it will be controlled by build in timer or switch which it send the signal from POCO to turn it on or off depending on the load.

Now if not that the case you have pretty much overloaded socket most useally rated for either 60 or 100 amp ( 60 is more common with that size ) and you have main breaker in the house if you do hit ( turn off ) the main breaker both house and detached garage should be off that is one location and now for other panel which you have outside if that is not used for water heater at all there a possiblty that used for other circuits.

Basically if this is correct as I described that you have two main panels and one sub panel ( at the detached garage )

Are you plan to add more circuits or what ? If so it will be a good time to upgrade to more modern panel and you will have to do the load demand caluations ( goggle it there are few verison you can try for homeowner to add it up ) if you don't understand it then just holler one of us will help you on the load demand caluations.

Per NEC codes the minuim size of service is 100 amp on resdentail ( there are other size but will discuss that other time due it is not related to here )

The common size is 100 amp or 150 amp or 200 amp size but 100 or 200 is the most common size.

But let me give you a head up if you going to increase the service size there are some area that only electricians can do this ( this part you will have to check with your local / county office for details )

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 11:24 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Confused Novice


1st Pic is of "Main Panel" inside house..notice switch above panel for electric hot water heater. We just replaced our gas water heater with electric.

2nd Pic is of detached garage panel.

Both are 100 amps.
Attached Thumbnails
Confused Novice-photo-2-.jpg   Confused Novice-photo-3-.jpg  
JRP_24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 11:35 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Confused Novice


Couple other notes that may help paint the picture...Addition to house and detached garage were added in the 70's. I am guessing this is where the outside breaker panel and garage panel came in.

In the fours years I've lived here I've never had problems with breakers or fuses (once in garage). Light bulbs do seem to have a short life though.

When pulling the "main" on the inside panel only half of the house loses electricity.

I know this may not be to current code...Not necessarily what I am trying to determine. I am trying to understand the electrical system so I can determine best and most cost friendly route to upgrade/correct.
JRP_24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 12:13 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: new mexico
Posts: 344
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Confused Novice


Quote:
Originally Posted by JRP_24 View Post
I am trying to understand the electrical system so I can determine best and most cost friendly route to upgrade/correct.
Gut the house and start over imo
redman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 11:13 PM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Confused Novice


Quote:
Originally Posted by JRP_24 View Post
1st Pic is of "Main Panel" inside house..notice switch above panel for electric hot water heater. We just replaced our gas water heater with electric.

2nd Pic is of detached garage panel.

Both are 100 amps.
Both of the photos you posted that is NOT a 100 amp unit at all that is 60 amp unit due the largest fuse cartage you can fit in is 60 amps noting more above it.

If you don't belive moi.,, just yank that main fuse and look at the printing it will tell ya what size it is.

On the second photo you posted mention disconnect both pull out that basically a non standard format which I have see it once a while and btw it can be rated either 60 or 100 amp depending on bussbar arrangement on that but for safe bet I will lean toward to 60 amp verison.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 11:15 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,592
Rewards Points: 2,144
Default

Confused Novice


[QUOTE=JRP_24;1091762

In the fours years I've lived here I've never had problems with breakers or fuses (once in garage). Light bulbs do seem to have a short life though.

When pulling the "main" on the inside panel only half of the house loses electricity.
[/QUOTE]

The other half could be feed off one of the other panels !
Or you have two hots incoming.

If you pull all four fuses in main panel,
does the house lose electricity entirely ?

short life of lamps could be 1 of 2 things
slightly high mains. (use high voltage lamps).
Or cheap quality lamps (commom problem).

dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Utterly confused - air barriers when finishing attic? s2m Insulation 5 12-11-2012 10:28 PM
confused on switch replacement fullpint Electrical 6 07-11-2011 08:39 AM
Confused about Sub Panel stqevo Electrical 28 10-01-2009 11:04 PM
Trying to wire my bathroom... confused... Alan Electrical 3 11-23-2008 04:44 PM
Novice Needs Help With 3 Way Switch Raine Electrical 7 02-17-2008 10:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.