Confused By My 3way Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2013, 01:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 619
Rewards Points: 558
Default

Confused by my 3way switch


I have two 3way switches controlling a pole light.
I want to replace one switch with a 2way timer switch, and short the other one out. We have never used the second switch, so there is nothing lost.

Looking at the first switch, there are 3 terminals; the common is always 121v. With the switch down, and the light off, the first traveler is 0 and the other is 121v. With the switch up, and the light on, the first traveler is 121v and the second is 45v.

I don't understand what is going on. I presume the 45v with the light on is voltage drop over the light, but if it is 0/121 with the switch down, shouldn't it be 45/0 with the switch up, instead of 121/45 as it actually is?

There is another 3way switch next to it for a different light, and it is the same (only 73v instead of 45v).

This simply isn't doing what I would have expected. Can you explain it to me

Advertisement

Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 02:22 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,222
Rewards Points: 2,354
Default

Confused by my 3way switch


The odd voltagesa being back fed from the load. Ignore them they are meaningless.

At the second switch connect one of the traveler wires to the wire an the common. Note the color of the traveler. Insulate the othe traveler wit a wire nut. Cover the box with a blank.
At the first box connect the timer to the traveler from the second box (by color) and the wire on the common. Insulate the other traveler. If your timer needs a neutral, hopefully there is one in the box.

Advertisement

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 06:09 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 619
Rewards Points: 558
Default

Confused by my 3way switch


All done, works great. Is the mysterious voltage because the travelers run together and the one with real voltage induces a little voltage in the other one?

It is an interesting switch. It has a calendar and clock and knows when sunset is, so it can turn the light on accordingly. Or at least that is what they say.
Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 06:12 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Confused by my 3way switch


Persactly. Induced, or phantom voltage due to a non-connected wire being adjacent to a hot line in the same cable/conduit.

Cap `em off and ignore `em.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 08:25 PM
Replacing A 3way Electrical Switch. Chris E. Electrical 29 05-20-2012 12:09 AM
split recptacle w/duplex recptacle to 3way switch HELP yeller Electrical 4 06-29-2010 10:41 AM
Light switch installation problems pc_clone Electrical 8 11-30-2009 10:25 PM
3way switch satsu Electrical 18 09-08-2007 10:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts