Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-2009, 06:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 15
Share |
Default

Confused about Sub Panel


Some of you might have been following along with me on how I have been wiring up my new shop. I am a newbie at Electrical and have tried to do everything myself. As a background, I am running a subpanel out to the new shop. Now I am confused as to where which wires go where. What has got me confused was when I looked at the box on my house that is feeding the new subpanel out in the shop. Here is a picture of the new subpanel.


I am running the twisted black/white to my ground rod, but is this the ground bus or the nuetral bus? At this point I am just confused as to attach the hot wire on the top 2 connectors, but where do I attach the nuetral wire?
On my house the breakers also have the hot black wire on one side of the breaker and the nuetral white wire on the other side of the breaker. Which side connects to which colored wire? Does the hot/black go on a specific side of the breaker? I am sure it does, but at this point where I have all the recpetacles wired up correctly and now am at the point to connect power I guess I am a little confused...Thnxx for any help and info..

stqevo is offline  
Old 10-01-2009, 06:26 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Confused about Sub Panel


2 Hots to the lugs of course
If that bar is isolated from the case use that as your neutral bus
If another bus did not come with it then you will need to buy one

Scuba_Dave is offline  
Old 10-01-2009, 06:26 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Default

Confused about Sub Panel


First of all you should have 3 conductor/plus ground not 2 cond./plus ground. Two hot wires on the breaker in the main connect to the two lugs on the breaker busses and the neutral to the neutral bus.
hayewe farm is offline  
Old 10-01-2009, 06:32 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,634
Default

Confused about Sub Panel


I only see a 2 wire feed to this panel.
The way you have it now, you have 120 volt subpanel.
The black goes to one of the lugs, the white goes to the neutral bar, and the bare goes to a missing ground bar.
The wire from the ground rod also needs to go to the missing ground bar.
Is this an underground installation to a detached garage?

If so, then you used the wrong cable to feed this thing.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline  
Old 10-01-2009, 06:32 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,346
Default

Confused about Sub Panel


You need a cable clamp on both those cables.
The cable is not proper for 240 operation. You must have a four wire feed for a sub panel.
That white/black twisted pair is in no way acceptable for a gound rod wire.
Plug all the open KOs.
Install a separate ground bar attached direct to the panel.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.

Last edited by joed; 10-01-2009 at 10:01 PM.
joed is offline  
Old 10-01-2009, 07:20 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 15
Default

Confused about Sub Panel


I did exactly what the HomeDepot guy told me to do and buy. He said he was a licensed electrician. We went with a 6awg to feed the subpanel with a 2 wire setup I guess he is thinking I will use the white as the other hot. I am supposing he is having me use the bare ground wire as the neutral? for this to be 220v.
I remember I went back and forth asking whether this wire was going to be sufficient. I am thinking that the main feed wire ground runs to the bus, can the recpetacle neutral also run to this same bus in the subpanel?
Yes; at this point I am confused as I did everything the HomeDepot Electrician told me to do. I've been in construction for over 25 years, I can tell you how to do anything when it comes to woodwork, but I have quickly found out that every electrician does things differently. I know there are codes standards but you can ask 3 electricians how to do something and you will get 12 different examples on how to do it. I appreciate all the help.....I think I have it figured out...but need some re-assurance to make sure....

Last edited by stqevo; 10-01-2009 at 07:30 PM.
stqevo is offline  
Old 10-01-2009, 07:30 PM   #7
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

Confused about Sub Panel


A HomeDepot licensed electrician!!!
300zx is offline  
Old 10-01-2009, 07:31 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Confused about Sub Panel


DIY Rule #1 - Do NOT take anything a Big Box employee says as the total Truth

#2 Check, 2x & 3x check information before purchase

That wire will not work
Bring it back to HD, get the Mgr if needed & get your $$ back
Scuba_Dave is offline  
Old 10-01-2009, 07:35 PM   #9
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

Confused about Sub Panel


This is your Neutral Bar in Pic You also need to buy a Ground Bar.
300zx is offline  
Old 10-01-2009, 07:43 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 15
Default

Confused about Sub Panel


So I can't use the bare ground wire for the Neutral? Or could I add another wire to make it a 3 wire setup? The Box at my house does not have a separate ground bus. You would be horrified if you saw it. My House is 50 years old and it is a mess. It appears to have ground(bare wire) and neutrals(white wire) on the same bus bar.
stqevo is offline  
Old 10-01-2009, 07:45 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Confused about Sub Panel


No you need 2 hots, insulated white neutral AND a ground

Main panel does not need a seperate ground bus
Scuba_Dave is offline  
Old 10-01-2009, 07:51 PM   #12
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,119
Default

Confused about Sub Panel


I am not trying to be rude here, but I question if you did everything the Home Depot guy said, or possibly you misunderstood him, or possibly he did not understand what you wanted to do. I can see you are very confused. There are a number of problems with your setup, most of which have been pointed out in previous posts, but frankly from your posts I doubt you understand the reasons that your setup is so messed up.

I recommend you get some professional help from a local person who can hands on walk you through what you need to do. For starters, it sounds like you want a 240 volt setup, but you pulled the wrong type of wire. This in and of itself suggests you need hands on help. Despite the fact that this forum has expert electricians, it seems wrong and dangerous for anyone on this forum to try to correct your issues over the Internet. Electrical work is too dangerous to wing it like you are doing.
Daniel Holzman is offline  
Old 10-01-2009, 08:01 PM   #13
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Default

Confused about Sub Panel


You need to follow Stubbie's advice in your other post #13 The 4 wire setup read the post agian Wiring shop need advice
300zx is offline  
Old 10-01-2009, 08:32 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Confused about Sub Panel


OK, it's obvious to those with experience that there are many problems here
Lets not get out of hand

stqevo:

There is more wrong with what you have done so far then there is "right"

NM cable can't be run underground
The wire you have will not work...period...take it back
You need grounding rods

What is the black & white twisted wire?
You said in the other thread that you would have friends helping...are they electricians?
Scuba_Dave is offline  
Old 10-01-2009, 08:49 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Confused about Sub Panel


Personal attacks & making fun of people will not be tolerated

Scuba_Dave is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 02:57 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.