Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2008, 09:43 PM   #31
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Share |
Default

Confused about grounding.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Not allowed, within the city limits for single family dwelling.
So what if the main breaker panel cannot be placed directly inside the structure? Still no go? I'm referring to 230.70 (A)(1) BTW.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 09:53 PM   #32
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Confused about grounding.


Yes that would be allowed, I was speaking to a single service disconnect remote from the panel. Meter mains and main breaker panels on an outside wall are fine.... If it is new construction it must be on the side (not rear) of the house nearest the service source.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 10:08 PM   #33
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Confused about grounding.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Yes that would be allowed, I was speaking to a single service disconnect remote from the panel. Meter mains and main breaker panels on an outside wall are fine.... If it is new construction it must be on the side (not rear) of the house nearest the service source.
I have to ask, whats the reasoning behind not allowing a disconnect after the meter and before the panel?

Many a jobs I've installed a disconnect right after entering the structure, then locate the panel elsewhere in the building.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 10:21 PM   #34
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Confused about grounding.


You know I've never been given a understandable reason and for what it is worth that is exactly what I would prefer... so I could isolate the panel. Codes tells us that KC Power and light started this requirement in the 60's. So it's a utility thing but I can't give you the exact reason as I've been told several over the years. When you think about it there isn't a good reason.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 11:26 PM   #35
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Confused about grounding.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
You know I've never been given a understandable reason and for what it is worth that is exactly what I would prefer... so I could isolate the panel. Codes tells us that KC Power and light started this requirement in the 60's. So it's a utility thing but I can't give you the exact reason as I've been told several over the years. When you think about it there isn't a good reason.
Wait. Are you saying that the poco wouldn't allow you to, say, place a meter socket, then poke through the structure into a disconnect? That's quite odd. I myself don't like the idea of un-fused service conductors running dozens of feet inside a structure. I'm even a little weary of back-to-back installs. I like my disconnects on the outside of the building. Maybe I'm the oddball...
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 11:44 PM   #36
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Confused about grounding.


No you can have a disconnect inside but it must be in the form of a main breaker panel not an isolating ocpd. But it has been a 4 years for me working in that part of town. I just copied the latest requirements off the Kcpl site they now do not allow meter mains at all but I'm not finding anything anymore about disallowing service disconnects before the panel.
Check out how close they want the water pipe bond.

They do have appeal provisions for exceptions but it is very rare to see any outside disconnects or panels on single family construction over the last 40 years in this area of Kansas unless you get to rural jurisdictions. 9 out of 10 homes have the meter outside and then immediately inside is a main breaker panel.
Attached Thumbnails
Confused about grounding.-kcpl.jpg  

Last edited by Stubbie; 11-10-2008 at 12:03 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 12:13 AM   #37
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Confused about grounding.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
No you can have a disconnect inside but it must be in the form of a main breaker panel not an isolating ocpd. But it has been a 4 years for me working in that part of town. I just copied the latest requirements off the Kcpl site they now do not allow meter mains at all but I'm not finding anything anymore about disallowing service disconnects before the panel.
Check out how close they want the water pipe bond.

They do have appeal provisions for exceptions but it is very rare to see any outside disconnects or panels on single family construction over the last 40 years in this area of Kansas unless you get to rural jurisdictions. 9 out of 10 homes have the meter outside and then immediately inside is a main breaker panel.
I read the words, and I understand them. But that makes no sense as to why. What could possibly be wrong with an isolating switch, or outside disconnect. I can't see how a disco on the outside wouldn't be a plus. How strange...
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 12:17 AM   #38
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

Confused about grounding.


What about those setups with the main breakers in the meter box? Could you use one of those instead of a disconnect?
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 12:47 AM   #39
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Confused about grounding.


Read the last sentence of the copied section in previous post
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 03:43 PM   #40
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Confused about grounding.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
What about those setups with the main breakers in the meter box? Could you use one of those instead of a disconnect?

That queston was already asked and answered.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 07:48 PM   #41
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

Confused about grounding.


Sorry, I failed at reading comprehension.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 07:50 PM   #42
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Confused about grounding.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
Sorry, I failed at reading comprehension.

Dont worry, your not alone...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ground, neutral


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grounding light box n0c7 Electrical 10 10-06-2008 03:20 PM
Sub-panel grounding question. gesoneguy Electrical 31 02-22-2008 08:25 AM
Grounding electrode at subpanel Randell Tarin Electrical 18 02-01-2008 09:05 PM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 05:45 PM
Toggle switches: With or without grounding screw? Marekus Electrical 3 11-27-2006 03:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.