Conduit Tubes For Structure Wiring Codes - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2009, 12:57 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Conduit tubes for Structure Wiring Codes


Hey everyone!

Alright I have a question...I'll try my best to explain the issue clearly so please bear with me...

So in this two story house, the master bedroom is just right above the garage. When entering the garage from inside the home, you have to pass through this small room designated as the laundry room.
It's pretty much a straight shot through the laundry room open then door and then into the garage.

So right now I currently have access to the ceiling space right above the laundry room. My problem is...I'm wiring two sets of structured wiring( 2x Cat 6 and 2x RG-6 wires), from inside the house into the side of the garage where the TV and Phone lines come in.

So in the ceiling, I have to horizontally penetrate through a 4x6 beam, insullation, and then Sheetrock in order to get into the garage. The opening will be right above the laundry door going into the garage.

I'm thinking of putting a short 1 1/2" PVC conduit tube through the whole with glued couplings at each end to prevent it from sliding back and forth. It will be like a straw whole for the wires to come out of. In the garage side, the conduit tube will just stick out of the wall about no more than 2-4 inches.
Once the wires are through, I plan to caulk the edge on the sheet rock hole where the conduit tube is comes through, as well as using insullation foam inside of the conduit tube.

What's your opinion on this? Good? Bad? DON'T DO IT?

Advertisement

genner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 05:45 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Conduit tubes for Structure Wiring Codes


Anyone? Please help!

Advertisement

genner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 05:58 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Conduit tubes for Structure Wiring Codes


You're breaking the fire separation between the garage and house, but go for it(I assume you know that since you are going to caulk/foam the conduit once you're done). Once the wire comes out of the conduit in the garage how does it run outside?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 07:35 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Conduit tubes for Structure Wiring Codes


yes i was more worried about the fumes from garage like CO from the car...but now that you speak of the fire break thing...I don't know if this will be such a great idea after all... but unfortunately i think the only other method would be to tear down some of the sheetrock in the garage so that i can pull it through the stud beams.

Once I get the wires into the garage, I will loop it out of the conduit tube and run it along the corners of the ceilings all the way to the side of the garage and then drop it straight down along the wall. From there I will make some sort of junction box that will bring the outside cable and telephone wires in and wire it all up in the box.
genner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 08:26 PM   #5
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Conduit tubes for Structure Wiring Codes


You can get fire blocking expanding foam. It's not a big deal.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 08:53 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,056
Rewards Points: 2,910
Default

Conduit tubes for Structure Wiring Codes


You probably should not drill a hole thru that beam. You may want to check with an engineer to see what sort of effect on the structural strength the hole would have.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 11:48 PM   #7
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Conduit tubes for Structure Wiring Codes


I agree. While I don't think that a beam penetration is necessarily a deal breaker, the size of the hole would concern me. The fire stop issue can be addressed, but I'd focus on the structural one first.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 03:39 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Conduit tubes for Structure Wiring Codes


yeah the beam seems to be a 4x6 beam. I'll drill directly in the middle and put some of those metal tie brackets above and below the 1 1/2" hole.

Now regarding the brackets, I'm only able to get access to only one side of the bream. I guess it's better than nothing right?

Advertisement

genner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
electric wiring in house remodel wis_remod Electrical 6 04-02-2009 03:40 PM
Conduit Tubes genner Electrical 12 01-10-2009 03:16 PM
Exterior Wiring Questions elliowb Electrical 10 01-07-2009 09:01 AM
Wiring Project - Need opinions boyfly Electrical 13 02-01-2008 04:52 PM
Adding outdoor wiring from crawlspace MusicMan_234 Electrical 2 06-25-2007 09:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts