Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-04-2012, 02:55 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles County
Posts: 204
Share |
Default

Conduit transition - water


I have 2" PVC conduit leading up to the house. I have to transition to metal conduit. Not sure if that should be EMT or rigid for a residential house but that's another matter. What gives me the willies is the transition. It doesn't seem to be water tight and yet it is supposed to take place underground. When a good rain comes along water will get in through the transition and into the conduit, right? Once water goes in there, it is dark and underground. No telling if/when it will dry out.

jackwashere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 03:01 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,736
Default

Conduit transition - water


There is nothing you can do to keep the water out anyway.
An underground conduit will collect water just by condensation.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 05:01 PM   #3
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,542
Default

Conduit transition - water


Underground conduits are always full of water. It's expected. Why transition to metal underground? Why not just use Sch. 80 PVC?
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 05:45 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles County
Posts: 204
Default

Conduit transition - water


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
Underground conduits are always full of water. It's expected. Why transition to metal underground? Why not just use Sch. 80 PVC?
Other way around. I'm transitioning to metal above ground. PVC Sch. 80 underground. It's code supposedly. Not sure if that can be EMT or does it have to be rigid.
jackwashere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 06:31 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Conduit transition - water


Quote:
Originally Posted by jackwashere View Post
I have 2" PVC conduit leading up to the house. I have to transition to metal conduit.
Why can't you remain with PVC?
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 03:22 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles County
Posts: 204
Default

Conduit transition - water


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
Why can't you remain with PVC?
I would love to. Only I heard that county code requires metal above ground. Also there is the issue of sunlight over time. The sun makes plastic brittle over a longer period of time.
jackwashere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 03:42 PM   #7
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Default

Conduit transition - water


Quote:
Originally Posted by jackwashere View Post
I would love to. Only I heard that county code requires metal above ground. Also there is the issue of sunlight over time. The sun makes plastic brittle over a longer period of time.
Might want to check that code requirement.

Gray PVC around here is actually stamped "non metallic conduit, schedule X, sunlight resistant, approved for above ground and underground..."
kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 05:09 PM   #8
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,542
Default

Conduit transition - water


Quote:
Originally Posted by jackwashere View Post
Other way around. I'm transitioning to metal above ground. PVC Sch. 80 underground. It's code supposedly. Not sure if that can be EMT or does it have to be rigid.
I meant why make the transition underground? Run PVC up above grade before changing to metal, if you change to metal at all. Check the code. The NEC certainly doesn't have a problem with this.

mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I turn off hot water to Washing Machine? okk Plumbing 12 08-10-2012 07:14 PM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
Solar hot water indatom123 Green Home Improvement 0 12-19-2010 12:01 AM
A blocked water line causing water to loose heat? Snav Plumbing 6 05-07-2010 02:18 PM
How Do I Properly Shock Chlorinate a Water Softner classicflytyer Plumbing 5 07-14-2009 12:15 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.