Conduit Through Siding - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2015, 09:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 32
Default

Conduit through siding


I need to run 12-2 out to an above ground pool. The configuration is the breaker box is located on the outside wall of the garage. The interior walls of the garage are drywalled and the foundation is slab with the sill plate right on the slab. My plan is to fish down from the breaker box and exit the house 4" or so from the slab exiting through the vinyl siding. What is the correct way to junction through the siding?

I plan to use 1/2 or 3/4 rigid conduit so I only need to go 6" deep. It is very rocky here in TN and I don't expect I can easily get to the 18" needed for pvc.

Thanks in advance for any input!

Advertisement

lightsareout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 10:08 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 2,487
Rewards Points: 2,350
Default


Personally, I'd drill a hole just slightly bigger than the threaded boss of a rigid LB and screw a chase nipple into it and stick it in the hole. Silicone around it and strap it appropriately.

Be sure to use a wiring method approved for pools AND outdoor use. GFCI protect it at the breaker. I and other electricians here are reluctant to give advice on pools because so much could go wrong. Be sure you follow the code to a T and understand it.

Advertisement

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 10:13 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 32
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Personally, I'd drill a hole just slightly bigger than the threaded boss of a rigid LB and screw a chase nipple into it and stick it in the hole. Silicone around it and strap it appropriately.

Be sure to use a wiring method approved for pools AND outdoor use. GFCI protect it at the breaker. I and other electricians here are reluctant to give advice on pools because so much could go wrong. Be sure you follow the code to a T and understand it.
I will be pulling a permit and have an inspection. I understand the risks and want to do the job right. for a 20 amp GFCI breaker is a single pole ok? (please say yes as i only have one open slot!)
lightsareout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 10:25 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 33,615
Rewards Points: 12,356
Default


Never OK to just sick it through the siding and count on caulking to to seal it.
Siding expands and contracts a lot and the caulking will just crack.
Should be removing some of the siding and installing a real siding block.
A blank 2 X 4 or 4 X 4 will work.
Something like this.
http://www.lowes.com/pd_89145-835-13...l+siding+block
Flush mounted siding blocks leak and are a pain to line up between the laps.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 10:32 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by lightsareout View Post
I will be pulling a permit and have an inspection. I understand the risks and want to do the job right. for a 20 amp GFCI breaker is a single pole ok? (please say yes as i only have one open slot!)
if you are talking about a 120 volt circuit then yes, it is a single pole. If you are talking about a 240 volt or a 120/240 volt circuit, then it is a 2 pole breaker. The amperage rating is irrelevant when determining whether it is single pole or 2 pole.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 10:33 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 32
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
if you are talking about a 120 volt circuit then yes, it is a single pole. If you are talking about a 240 volt or a 120/240 volt circuit, then it is a 2 pole breaker. The amperage rating is irrelevant when determining whether it is single pole or 2 pole.
yes its just 120
lightsareout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 11:50 AM   #7
Special User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Idaho, US
Posts: 917
Rewards Points: 1,230
Default


By the way, don't use 12-2 Romex. Romex or NM-B is not approved for wet locations, and buried conduit is considered a wet location. Can't use THHN, either. You need to use THWN or similar wet-rated wire.

I believe UF cable can be used in 3/4" conduit but I suspect you'll find that THWN in 1/2" conduit is far cheaper.
__________________
The above post is for entertainment purposes only. Its contents may, and probably will, lead to legal liability and damage or loss of property, life, or limb. Use at your own risk.
tylernt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 11:50 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 32
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Personally, I'd drill a hole just slightly bigger than the threaded boss of a rigid LB and screw a chase nipple into it and stick it in the hole. Silicone around it and strap it appropriately.

Be sure to use a wiring method approved for pools AND outdoor use. GFCI protect it at the breaker. I and other electricians here are reluctant to give advice on pools because so much could go wrong. Be sure you follow the code to a T and understand it.
is it code to install with a chase nipple like this?
lightsareout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 11:55 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 32
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by tylernt View Post
By the way, don't use 12-2 Romex. Romex or NM-B is not approved for wet locations, and buried conduit is considered a wet location. Can't use THHN, either. You need to use THWN or similar wet-rated wire.

I believe UF cable can be used in 3/4" conduit but I suspect you'll find that THWN in 1/2" conduit is far cheaper.
is THWN considered rigid?

Yes i saw that a better class wire is required.
lightsareout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 11:59 AM   #10
Special User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Idaho, US
Posts: 917
Rewards Points: 1,230
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by lightsareout View Post
is THWN considered rigid?
Rigid refers to the conduit around the wire. EMT (Electric Metallic Tubing) is the thin stuff used indoors, which is not what you want here. RMC (Rigid Metal Conduit) is the thick stuff rated for burial that you want.

THHN / THWN refers to the wire inside the conduit. You can get it in solid or stranded. Stranded is okay to use and is much easier to pull through conduit.
__________________
The above post is for entertainment purposes only. Its contents may, and probably will, lead to legal liability and damage or loss of property, life, or limb. Use at your own risk.
tylernt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 12:00 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 32
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by tylernt View Post
Rigid refers to the conduit around the wire. EMT (Electric Metallic Tubing) is the thin stuff used indoors, which is not what you want here. RMC (Rigid Metal Conduit) is the thick stuff rated for burial that you want.

THHN / THWN refers to the wire inside the conduit. You can get it in solid or stranded. Stranded is okay to use and is much easier to pull through conduit.
Great thank you, stranded will save me some frustration!
lightsareout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 01:26 PM   #12
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,304
Rewards Points: 762
Default


Type UF cvannot be used for a pool or spa. The ground needs to be insulated.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
tylernt (06-23-2015)
Old 06-23-2015, 01:28 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 32
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Type UF cvannot be used for a pool or spa. The ground needs to be insulated.
what type could i use? or will i need to run individual THWN strands?
lightsareout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 02:13 PM   #14
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 4,077
Rewards Points: 6
Default


Quote:
Can't use THHN, either. You need to use THWN or similar wet rated wire.
That probably is not the best choice of words.
Most, if not all, THHN sold today is rated as THWN (and may carry other wet ratings such as MTW).
You just need to read the info printed on the wire and/or the mfg spec sheet.

Last edited by Oso954; 06-23-2015 at 02:16 PM.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Oso954 For This Useful Post:
tylernt (06-23-2015)
Old 06-23-2015, 03:57 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 2,487
Rewards Points: 2,350
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by lightsareout View Post
is it code to install with a chase nipple like this?
Not unless you're using a cable of some sort. If you use THWN you'll need to have a continuous conduit system. In that case, I'd use either flex or seal tite and screw a connector into the rigid LB.

Advertisement

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Siding right on studs? Davef_dci Carpentry 6 03-07-2013 06:31 PM
Conduit Attached to Exterior Foundation rjschwar Electrical 0 07-14-2012 03:14 PM
Siding: Cement Vs. Cedar Grumpy Remodeling 5 03-19-2005 02:07 PM
Siding: Aluminum vs. Vinyl Grumpy Remodeling 1 03-19-2005 01:55 PM
Siding: Aluminum vs. Vinyl Grumpy Remodeling 0 04-18-2004 04:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1