Conduit Through Jpist - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2013, 07:34 PM   #1
Member
 
bryanp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 417
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Conduit through jpist


We are thinking of leaving our basement to be exposed joist. Right now the conduit is below the joists for the basic light fixtures. Can you drill through the joist to recess the conduit higher in the joist or does it have to stay below the joist? If possible we'd like to have the conduit not stick out below the joist, but I am sure what is the rules.

Advertisement

bryanp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:59 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,778
Rewards Points: 2,230
Default

Conduit through jpist


Quote:
Originally Posted by bryanp22 View Post
Can you drill through the joist to recess the conduit higher in the joist or does it have to stay below the joist?
Something tells me you're in Chicago.

In principle... sure you CAN drill through.
But there are at least as many rules about that as the wiring itself.

If it were my house and my wife came up with this notion....
I'd think about the room as a whole and the layout of the conduit.

Where you *must* run conduit "against the grain" do so at the ends of the room where it is less intrusive or obvious. Where you can get away with it (or will go to some trouble to allow for)... tuck the conduit up into the joist bays.

ps: Greenfield is NOT cheating.

Advertisement

TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 08:03 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,710
Rewards Points: 536
Default

Conduit through jpist


According to the 2006 International Residential Code (IRC) the maximum diameter hole that you can drill in a solid wood joist is 1/3 the ACTUAL depth of the joist. The code also says that holes have to be at least 2" from the edge of a joist. So if your joist is 5-1/2", the maximum size hole would be 1-1/2" if it was centered in the joist. If the joists are slightly deeper than 5-1/2", the hole can be slightly larger.
It's done all the time.
Small holes for just conduit will be a none issue.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 08:29 PM   #4
Member
 
bryanp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 417
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Conduit through jpist


I'm in milwaukee. Our house was built in the 50s ad must have at least 2x10s for joists I can measure when I'm home. So normally people drill through to fill the metal conduit?
bryanp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 08:31 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Conduit through jpist


Homeowners are not allowed to do their own electrical work in Milwaukee.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 08:39 PM   #6
Member
 
bryanp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 417
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Conduit through jpist


Well it's a suburb not the city. Just milwaukee area.
bryanp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 08:43 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Conduit through jpist


Nowhere in SE WI is it legal to do your own electrical work. You can't even pull a permit without a Master's license.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 09:53 PM   #8
Member
 
bryanp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 417
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Conduit through jpist


I'm fine hiring an electrician just trying to visualize if the conduit can be moved to in the joist or if it has to stay below. It will impact our lighting decision.
bryanp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 09:58 PM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Conduit through jpist


If the piping has to be either replaced or removed, this will be quite expensive. The conduit can be thru the joists, but it will be time consuming. You know what they say, time=$$
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 10:08 PM   #10
Member
 
bryanp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 417
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Conduit through jpist


Ca be worth it. Our basement doesn't have much height so we are thinking exposed ceiling with track lighting. We need all the height we can get so having track lighting recess a bit will help with overall height.
bryanp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 10:37 PM   #11
Member
 
bryanp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 417
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Conduit through jpist


Is conduit required in SE Wisconsin?
bryanp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 10:43 PM   #12
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Conduit through jpist


Nope. It was for a long time in Shorewood, but not anymore.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 11:41 PM   #13
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Conduit through jpist


Quote:
Originally Posted by bryanp22 View Post
I'm fine hiring an electrician just trying to visualize if the conduit can be moved to in the joist or if it has to stay below. It will impact our lighting decision.
In my opinion you may be cheaper installing a dropped ceiling. There are several nice options available, including wood. And THAT is a do it yourself project.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 11:48 PM   #14
Member
 
bryanp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 417
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Conduit through jpist


Not enough height to do that. My ceiling is maybe 6 feet 8 inches. We want to keep a treadmill in the basement and I barely have a couple inches above me head now when using it.
bryanp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 11:55 PM   #15
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Conduit through jpist


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Homeowners are not allowed to do their own electrical work in Milwaukee.
Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Nowhere in SE WI is it legal to do your own electrical work. You can't even pull a permit without a Master's license.
For the Northeast area the home owner are allowed to do the own wiring as long they are the owner of the home but only one major gotcha is that the homeowners can NOT change the panel box themself. ditto with meter socket that is complety off limit to homeowner that was in effect 3 years back so that useally stop them in the tracks for safety issue.

Merci,
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using 2" PVC electrical conduit RonLNY Electrical 7 01-06-2013 11:34 PM
Total Degrees of Bend in Underground PVC Conduit tedallen Electrical 12 03-29-2012 09:02 PM
What conduit should I use? mulltron Electrical 6 07-12-2011 02:34 AM
Warm and Noisy Electrical Conduit Intravartolo Electrical 4 07-26-2010 02:46 AM
Chicago Conduit Rules Wrigleyville Electrical 6 01-28-2010 07:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts