Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-20-2006, 10:52 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

conduit span 24" OC across trusses


Hi, I'm looking to run pvc conduit across my trusses, the trusses are 24" on Center. Would this be code, havin the pvc conduit span that distance, or would I have to support it on boards?

Thanks in Advance....

stagger19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 01:04 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 0
Default

conduit span 24" OC across trusses


This type conduit has to be supported at min every 3 feet.

jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 02:50 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 0
Default

conduit span 24" OC across trusses


ok, so thats good, with my trusses set 2 ft on center, I should good.

I want to run a 1/2" conduit line down the center of the trusses, and T off of the main line in a few spots for receptacles. This is where my hanging shop lights will plug into.
stagger19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 04:05 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 0
Default

conduit span 24" OC across trusses


The code used to say supported. That has changed to fastened in place. So you cannot just lay the conduit up there, you will have to put straps on it.
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 04:29 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 0
Default

conduit span 24" OC across trusses


Ok thanks. Yeah I wasnt planning on just laying it up there, I will strap it to the trusses. I would imagine it has to be fastened at the 3 ft max span rating as you mentioned? The conduit will also connect to a few boxes that will be mounted as well for my receptacles, so the conduit should be solid and not go anywhere when I get done.

Thanks so your help.
stagger19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 04:47 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 0
Default

conduit span 24" OC across trusses


I am curious why you are using PVC instead of NM cable?
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 06:51 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 0
Default

conduit span 24" OC across trusses


I'm running PVC cause the inspector is worried that I may store stuff up in my trusses (this is in a Garage) and he doesn't want the NM (romex) to be susceptible to physical damage. Trust me, id rather run romex and be done with it.

So I figure if I run romex 14 Ga out of the breaker box, to my switch, and over to a J box, and transition over to pvc, and run a trunk line right down the center of the trusses with 14 GA THHN, and branch off of the trunk in 3 or 4 spots with a Tee for my recepticals, for my lights to plug into.

Last edited by stagger19; 08-20-2006 at 07:00 PM.
stagger19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 07:20 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 0
Default

conduit span 24" OC across trusses


That is why the old rafters were better.. You could drill holes in them and run your wires in there.

Another option is running boards. If the inspector would go for it, a one x two could be nailed down after you run the romex, on either side of the cable.

jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I have a question on changing trusses, I am framing an attic room. wackerjr Building & Construction 17 01-22-2008 07:36 AM
Joists - TGI vs. Web Trusses handy man88 Building & Construction 3 04-02-2007 11:34 AM
Reinforcing Ceiling Trusses powrus Building & Construction 2 02-24-2007 08:10 PM
Conduit through basement wall. bdalekid Electrical 13 01-31-2007 08:35 PM
How to line up trusses with studs aero_ub Carpentry 5 04-24-2006 03:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.