Conduit Size Needed - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2007, 02:12 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Conduit Size needed


I need to know how many Cat 6 cables can I get inside a 1 1/2 inc pipe? Or what size of conduit do I need to install (12) Cat 6 cables into? Thanks guys

Advertisement

helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 03:07 PM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,217
Rewards Points: 2,404
Default

Conduit Size needed


Try here http://www.lanshack.com/DesigningConduitRuns.aspx

Only thing I'll add is you need to keep your bends to less than NEC requirements,... cat cables will not take the pulling stress that electrical cables will.

Advertisement

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2007, 03:36 PM   #3
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Conduit Size needed


It also depends on what kind of cat 6. We just did a job with Cat 6a for voice and date. You can only get four of them into a 1 ".
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 10:41 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Conduit Size needed


Here's what you need to figure that out....

OD - outside diameter - of your cat6 cabling. Heres the rule - you can put up to a 50% fill of your conduit with cabling. So...

(Cable Qty. * OD)/Conduit Inside Diameter.

If you have runs longer than 90ft, I'd recommend a pull box too. - makes your life easier.
CuCullin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 12:17 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,004
Rewards Points: 2,806
Default

Conduit Size needed


[quote=CuCullin;73109]Here's what you need to figure that out....

OD - outside diameter - of your cat6 cabling. Heres the rule - you can put up to a 50% fill of your conduit with cabling. So...

quote]

Could you please quote this rule? Where is it found?
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 07:47 PM   #6
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Conduit Size needed


I think he may be referring to a BICSI standard. You can do a standard conductor fill calc. for these as well. In this case you'd use the ID measurement of your raceway and the OD of your cable to determine the conduit fill.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 08:00 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Conduit Size needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by goose134 View Post
I think he may be referring to a BICSI standard.
Yup! Sorry, I leave things like that out sometimes You can a solutely use a regular conduit fill calc - the reason for the standard 50% fill though is the requirements of much low voltage data cabling (6/6a/6e much more so) are quite stringent to maintain the highest data rates with regards to bend radius, potential for crimping, etc. On the other side of things, leaving some room allows additional and replacement cabling to be much easier later, where you likely still won't pinch crucial wiring.

Advertisement

CuCullin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Size of whole house fan needed Doug Crf General DIY Discussions 20 02-26-2011 12:29 AM
Conduit issues - help needed nymackem Electrical 19 11-05-2007 07:45 AM
ceiling joist size - 2x4 or 2x6 needed? bigdaddy352 Building & Construction 9 08-21-2007 01:02 AM
conduit size and NEC stagger19 Electrical 4 08-20-2006 10:44 AM
Size of laminate layout before t-joints are needed wingman Flooring 1 06-22-2006 10:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts