Conduit Size For 2-2-2-4 - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2011, 04:29 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

conduit size for 2-2-2-4


i am running 125 feet of 2-2-2-4 quad urd. 55' is under ground and the remaining will be straped to the joist under my house untill it reaches where my main 200amp panel is. Should I run the wire in a conduit when it comes out of the ground under neath my house? If so, what size PVC should I use?

Advertisement

Uhila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 05:03 AM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,177
Rewards Points: 2,610
Default

conduit size for 2-2-2-4


URD is not a code compliant wiring method once you enter the structure.

Advertisement

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
Uhila01 (10-08-2011)
Old 10-08-2011, 05:23 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

conduit size for 2-2-2-4


what should I do then.... Bury it under the house then change to some other wire before entering the main service?
Uhila01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 06:44 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,122
Rewards Points: 596
Default

conduit size for 2-2-2-4


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
URD is not a code compliant wiring method once you enter the structure.
That said, I don't think anyone has EVER failed an inspection because of it.
Just sayin'.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 11:29 AM   #5
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 705
Rewards Points: 508
Default

conduit size for 2-2-2-4


a lot of URD Is dual rated, as another type or wire that is allowed inside.
Techy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 12:08 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,649
Rewards Points: 3,474
Default

conduit size for 2-2-2-4


I would think ti would be easier to pull individual conductors over the quadplexed cable.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What conduit should I use? mulltron Electrical 6 07-12-2011 01:34 AM
Conduit Size Believer Electrical 1 07-11-2011 03:19 PM
wire size for conduit run WDR Electrical 25 08-07-2010 10:38 AM
is UG conduit size change legal? krazni Electrical 1 07-13-2010 02:17 PM
What size wire and what kind of conduit... epeterson777 Electrical 15 02-21-2009 07:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts