Conduit Size - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2011, 06:49 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Conduit Size


What size conduit should I use to run 220 feet of 2-2-2-4 URD? Thanks.

Advertisement

Believer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 08:45 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,643
Rewards Points: 3,464
Default

Conduit Size


URD is typically used in a direct burial application.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 09:53 AM   #3
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Conduit Size


Also 2-2-2-4 AL is too small for a 100 amp subpanel.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 11:42 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Conduit Size


90 amp, correct?
Believer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 11:48 AM   #5
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Conduit Size


Assuming this a feeder for a sub panel, #2 AL is only rated for 75 amps.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 11:50 AM   #6
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Conduit Size


Next standard breaker size is 80 amps.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 12:06 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Conduit Size


Yes, it's a feeder to sub panel.
Believer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 12:10 PM   #8
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Conduit Size


Did you buy the wire already?

Advertisement

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What conduit should I use? mulltron Electrical 6 07-12-2011 01:34 AM
Conduit Size Believer Electrical 1 07-11-2011 03:19 PM
wire size for conduit run WDR Electrical 25 08-07-2010 10:38 AM
is UG conduit size change legal? krazni Electrical 1 07-13-2010 02:17 PM
What size wire and what kind of conduit... epeterson777 Electrical 15 02-21-2009 07:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts