Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-14-2012, 09:29 PM   #31
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Share |
Default

Is conduit over fill really bad?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
As long as the head room and working clearances are met, its really not a big deal.
I wasn't saying anything code wise, more of a common sense thing.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 09:31 PM   #32
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,687
Default

Is conduit over fill really bad?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I wasn't saying anything code wise, more of a common sense thing.
Im not sure I follow? What common sense thing?


Im thinking a staircase to the attic, you must be thinking a drop down staircase or scuttle hole...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 10:47 PM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Is conduit over fill really bad?


FWLIW, I've decided to fix it. To Parman's and others points, I don't want to spend the rest of my life in the house wondering/waiting to see if there is going to be a problem or fire. Much less having the thing burn down or someone injured over a few thousand bucks after having spent a fortune on the thing to build it. That and it turns out we found the stamped and signed paper permit from the county saying we have an extra 5 months despite their website saying it has to be done next month so we have a little breathing room. Thanks for all the help, advice and input (well most of it from the true professionals and good folk anyway).
Sincerely, Rob

p.s. Did I mention the house took nearly 5 miles of romex!? the house is big but the excessive amount is also due in large part to having to zig zag cable back and forth all over the place to get anywhere. If there is ever a next time, I'll have an engineer plan out hvac, plumbing and electric ahead of time in the design stage.

RancherRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
conduit fill


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Conduit fill Sunny B. Electrical 10 10-25-2011 08:22 AM
NEC- National Electric code 2008 Scuba_Dave Electrical 7 04-19-2010 04:41 PM
Need help with conduit fill calculations kornbln Electrical 6 07-28-2009 12:22 PM
Running conduit for a pool light KyMike Electrical 12 06-17-2009 03:02 PM
Would you spring to fill in your backyard? Piedmont Landscaping & Lawn Care 4 05-14-2009 08:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.