Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-09-2011, 12:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Conduit in garage?


I want to add an additional electrical outlet in my garage. To avoid having to run cable in the walls, can I run romex on the outside of the drywall to the new surface mount box about 20 feet away from the existing electrical outlet, or do I need to use conduit?

Location - California.

Thanks

nagolmot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 01:00 PM   #2
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 749
Default

Conduit in garage?


You will have to use conduit or wiremold. You can add an extension box to the existing outlet to attach conduit to, and run it across the wall to the new box.

NM cable (Romex) can't be installed on the surface where it could be subject to physical damage.

McSteve is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weatherproofing garage help Perfik Building & Construction 2 10-17-2012 03:30 PM
Retaining wall for driveway and garage dalepres Building & Construction 6 03-21-2011 09:03 PM
Conduit through garage to house. Max wires? RyanD Electrical 12 08-02-2009 05:12 PM
Garage subpanel installation - EMT ScottR Electrical 26 06-11-2009 12:53 PM
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 02:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.