Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-13-2013, 09:52 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 291
Share |
Default

Conduit fill question


My 17kw generac generator is currently picking up 4 circuits from my main panel, and 8 circuits (all 15 or 20a) from my sub panel. When this was originally installed, there were 8 - 12gauge thhn wires run in 3/4 seal tite from my generator panel to my sub panel. The seal tite ran through the exterior wall where my main panel is located, underground, and then back in the house where my sub panel is, about 30' away. Now that my basement is gutted. I want to run this inside the house. Can I run all 8 - 12gauge thhn wires in a 3/4 flexible metal conduit? I looked up conduit fill, and that seems fine. What concerns me is the derating. Should I run 2 -3/4" conduits and run 4 in each or am I ok with all 8 in one? All 8 wires will be carrying a load. Thank you!!




Thank you!

mazzonetv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 10:21 PM   #2
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,240
Default

Conduit fill question


Why flexible? I'd do PVC or EMT....and bump it up in size. The cost difference is almost nothing....

I'd go at least 1"....then later on if you want to add something, you have the space.

And....it's a lot easier to fish a fish tape through pvc or EMT than it is flexible...

__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 05:06 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 291
Default

Conduit fill question


PVC is not code where I am. Emt would not work for me. I have to go behind some studs and there are some twists and turns.
mazzonetv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 10:16 AM   #4
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,670
Default

Conduit fill question


9 current carrying conductors is the limit for 70% derating. #12 THHN cu will work fine. Only one conduit is needed.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 02:10 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 291
Default

Conduit fill question


Thank you! After thinking about it, I'm going to run another piece of greenfield anyway. I have it, the walls are open, and who knows if ill need it in the future. =). Much appreciate the replies.
mazzonetv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Conduit question. raleighthings Electrical 9 10-06-2011 03:42 PM
Installing central air question about conduit from disconnect to panel angelas111 Electrical 2 05-27-2011 07:37 AM
garage conduit question b_corwin Electrical 19 04-16-2010 12:32 PM
Conduit Fill and Derating jamiedolan Electrical 73 11-18-2008 11:36 PM
Conduit Fill & Ampacity capndave Electrical 37 03-26-2008 02:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.